Sprechen Sie deutsch?


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Munich
June 6th 2013
Published: June 19th 2013
Edit Blog Post

After my awesome day in Switzerland I wasn’t sure how the rest of the trip would compare as we started our journey to Munich.

We stopped at Dachau, a concentration camp midway. It was a very somber experience. The weather was awful of course and it just added to the mood.



After seeing their living spaces and gas chamber I was ready to get out of there. I’m glad we stopped there though. It was important to see.



Once we got to Munich we immediately turned the mood around by going to a beer hall for dinner and ate sausage and sauerkraut. It was a lot of fun to get rowdy during dinner.



We did want to experience drinking a stein mug (1 liter) at the hofbrow house. It was so much fun. The servers were in the traditional outfits, there was a live band that you would sing along with and swing your mug along with the tune.





It was a Friday night and we were at the most famous beer hall in Germany so it got very crowded and the drinks were of course sold at inflated prices so we traveled on to another, less famous beer hall and had just as much fun.

I heard at the beginning of my trip that German beer does not give you a hangover because of the ingredient and process of it… well, that’s a lie. The only two times I felt awful the next day was after Berlin and Munich… German cities, imagine that.

The next day we went to the Rhine Valley. After taking a riverboat cruise and doing a wine tasting, we got to the hotel around 6.



Dinner was at 7 so I decided to take a nap before. I ended up sleeping through my alarm and dinner and waking up at 5:30 AM the next day. I guess I was tired…

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0346s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb