Swiss


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Grindelwald
June 3rd 2013
Published: June 19th 2013
Edit Blog Post

In between Barcelona and Switzerland, we stopped at Pont du Gaurd and Avignon. Haven’t heard of it? Me neither. Pont du Gard is actually a really famous bridge, and I learned about it in one of my architecture classes but it was a 15 minute walk to get there…in the pouring rain…I normally would be all for it, but I was actually really sick and didn’t want to ruin the rest of my trip. There’s not much to talk about in Avignon either… all I did was eat dinner and recover from all my lack of sleep I have been getting since Venice basically.

We left the next day for the Swiss Alps. I know that every post I say that “this is my favorite place so far”… but This is my favorite place so far, minus the fact that you have to take out a second morgage to be able to afford the place.

There was a new form of currency we had to use, The Swiss Frank. It was very colorful!



<span>Before we got to the Alps we stopped in Geneva. I was really excited to stop here because National Geograpic rated it the #1 most beautiful lake, while Torch Lake (the lake that I have a cabin on) is rated #3. Well….there’s no comparison. Torch Lake is a million… no a billion times more beautiful. I don’t know who did the ratings, but they messed up.



We got to the Alps and they are absolutely beautiful. Our hotel sat in one of the valleys and we had a great view from our window.



Because of Switzerlands prices we just stayed at the hotel bar where drinks weren’t as badly priced. We still made the most of it.

The next day was the best day on the trip, maybe the best day of my life. We took the train up to Jungfau, the top of a glacier in the alps. It was so cold, but so beautiful.

We went outside to sled and ski and a group of us decided it would be a good idea to pretend it was summer and roll around in the snow.

After that we warmed up with hot chocolates in the lounge up stairs and road the train back down.

When we got off at our stop, there was a van there advertising cannon swinging. I of course could not say no to that and hopped in to the van without batting an eye.

The cannon was 100 meters high free fall over the river. I sky dived and bungee jumped before so I knew I would be able to do this too. After getting my liquid courage I was able to run and jump fearlessly off the ledge and plumpet towards the rocky bottom.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0566s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb