Prost! (or cheers for you non-German speakers)


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Munich
July 18th 2006
Published: July 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Our first night in Munich was really just a night. We met a girl from the states on the street and decided to have dinner together in an Italian restaraunt right across the street from the hostel. Hey it was convenient.

The next day was spent on a free walking tour. Three hours of walking and fun facts about the city. The best part was our doggie mascot that walked with us the whole way. The tour guide walks her dog during these tours. And in a Bavarian theme, we ended the tour in the beer garden. Good cold bavarian beer and pretzels. A little siesta came afterwards. And then it was off to the English Gardens for a little surfing entertainment. People actually wear their wetsuits and surf in a certain part of the river that flows through this garden. Dinner was spent in another beer garden. This time in the park (surprise), brautwurst, sourkraut and a liter of beer.

The next day we went on a daytrip to Neuschwanstein Castle. The castle that Walt Disney based his castle off of. Sadly it was never completed. The 30 min walk up the steep hill was worth the effort. But some of our tour group opted to take the bus up anyhow. The parts that were were absolutely stunning with paintings covering the walls in Wagner opera themes and woodwork that took years to complete. That night guess where we had dinner...surprise...another beer garden. This time it was in the oldest beer garden in the whole of Bavaria, HofbrÀuhaus.

Prost! Angele

Advertisement



22nd July 2006

Why im not there
gutten Abend Amie.I wish to go with you o see that beautifull castle neuschweistein.Its my dream to go there.i love Germany its nice country to see aspecialy the south of germany.Enjoy
23rd July 2006

Wow!
I just spent over an hour reading up on your trip. And all I can say is "wow!" I was so intrigued and enjoyed reading every detail. Wish I were there...but sounds like you're having a blast. Have some fun for me ;) Luv Melanie (and jessie)
23rd July 2006

Beautiful places!
Sounds like you guys are on a much better run of events! I wish I could have seen the bulls!! (go bulls go!) and the old castle! so many neat things!! I'm glad to hear its so nice!! Keep on enjoying it for us all!
24th July 2006

Two things to point out
One: Siesta's are not GERMAN Two: Your mom called me today to ask where she could find information on AA. (I think the liquor it getting to her) :D Cheers, Cathy
24th July 2006

Envious, salivating andreminiscing
I'm talking to your mom on the phone as I'm typing this. Oh, to be young and adventurous! And of course, the food. I hope that if you go to Belguim, the Brugges is on the itinerary. Don't forget the fries w/
24th July 2006

Envious, salivating and reminiscing pt 2
Oops, I must have pressed ENTER prematurely...its call because of the food talk. Anyway, don't forget the Belgian fries w/mayo and when in Brugges, try the variety of beers...even better visit the breweries for freebies. Apart from the bedbugs, eurorail incidents and partial bloating faces, I love to read up on your experiences. Then I lay back, daydream and reminisce. Take care and keep enjoying life.

Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0488s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb