Auf Wiedersehen Germany!


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Munich
June 20th 2006
Published: July 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

The day had finally come! I had enjoyed my time in Europe but really did miss home and was looking forward to being back in Australia where I could speak the language, knew how things worked, and just be around family and friends.

I had stayed up the night before to pack so didn't need to pack much this morning. Adam left early to go on the Dachau day tour and stopped by to say goodbye. For breakfast that left Nat, Todd and I. Ahh my last buffet breakfast (for a while!).

After breakfast I used the Internet downstairs then Todd and I used the payphone across the road to confirm my British Airways flight (Munich to London).

Back upstairs, I made some last minute checks. In no time, I was ready to go. Nat stopped by and said goodbye. She was leaving for the Palace tour in Munich. Todd and I left for the Central train station shortly after.

The train ride was about 45 mins. There were a few people on their way to the airport too. We arrived and I checked-in easily. No excess baggage charges here! My hand-carry was medium-ish but very heavy...glad they didn't weigh it!

Todd and I grabbed some lunch at the food court. We both couldn't understand the food staff so I think we both ended up with things we weren't sure about. I was actually still full from breakfast!

Time to go...we head for my gate. It was sad leaving Todd after 6 weeks of travelling! I went through customs, loaded my heavy hand-carry bags to be scanned and was through! I waved my last good-bye to Todd through the glass doors.

My gate turned out to be 5 metres from customs. I went to the duty free store and bought some Jagermeister for Rick then found a seat near my gate. I sat around for ages for my flight to London. I think my flight was delayed. I'm a little unsure because I fell asleep waiting! Finally it was boarding time. I was struggling a bit with my hand-carry but managed to drag everything onto the plane. Plane 1 out of 4 over 33 hours tick!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0519s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb