Beer City


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Munich
October 28th 2010
Published: October 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hello everybody!

Internet has been hard to come by since Vienna. But here I am, safe and sound and well in München.

Prague was incredible. Definitely a place to see again. I could spend a week there just walking around staring up, looking at the towering buildings that have been standing for hundreds of years. They were shooting a fewe movies while we were there! I think Mission Impossible 4, and another film, a German film about Russia. No celebrity sitings, butit was pretty awesome to sneak close and check out all the equipment. For the German one they actually turned a section of Prague into a small Russian neighborhood, signs on buildings, amrkets, outfits, everything Russian. Awesome! We went to an incredible Vegan restaurant called Clear Head (I cant remember the name in Czech, which is a language marriage between German and Russian).

Unfortunately our time in Vienna was too limited. We got to head to the cemetary on Monday, where there are 1.3 million people burried, and we had a very difficult time findings where we needed to go. It was freezing and raining, and we ambled around for about 3 hours looking for Beethoven and Straus. It was an experience, lets just put it that way. We were about to give up when we saw a sign for "Musikers" and I was very excited. We got home soaked and cold, and grabbed some veg noodles from Happy Noodle, a vegetarian fast food Chinese noodle stand. Oh man, so tasty, and then we grabbed some groceries, including a rather large bottle of wine and went back to our hotel room and relaxed. We watched the Matrix in german, and some German dubbed south park, which were both quite enjoyable. Then we were so tired we just crashed.

The next morning we left very early for Munich, and we spent our first day here walking around and finding our way. Hugely popular with the tourists. We wandered into a beer hall, and it was terrifying! The place was crammed with people, and so loud I couldnt even hear Justin say "No way" haha. So, wedecided to try again later. We then saw some more insanelz beautiful buildings. Munich is interesting because so many buildings were destroyed in air raids (as of most of Germans larger cities) and so the buildings aof are all different architectural styles, my two faves being Baroque and Gothic.
Our second day in Munich (which was yesterday, oh man time is so messed up in my brain!) we went on our first and only organized tour to two of Ludwig II's castles, some of the Romantic road and viewd of Bavarian alps. It was awesome. Our tour guide was this crazy dingbat of a lady name Gisala (Geez-ah-lah) who, within the first 10 minutes of the trip, managed to lose 2 of our group members and scare the shit out of two passengers from Thailand, telling them that there was terrible flooding in their home country with lots of dead people and that they should check the news and call their family. We had literally just loaded the bus for a 12 hours long tour and this is what she said to them. Justin and I just stared in disbelief. She was a bit of an odd duck. We got to see Neuschwanstein castle, the castle that inspired disnez, and Schwansee, the lake that inspired Tchaichovsky's swan lake. We saw a ton of swans, one of whom attacked a small Asian man in our group. Attack swan! Grand.
So after our tour was over (donät worry I have a ton of pictures and I will tell you all more details!) we came abck and decided to give the Beer Hall another try. So glad we did! It was much quiter. It is interesting, a big hall of wooden tables, seeting is family styles so you are grouped with strangers, which makes for good conversation. I enjoyed my first ever real beer, a German Weiss (white) beer, I had about a liter of it. The glassess are hugemongous. And so are the pretzels! As big as my head! We got two between the two of us and could only eat about 1.5 and that was pushing it. As the Australians we met said, "All in good fun!" There was a band playing traditional Bavarian drinking songs and beer drinking music, all wearing Leiderhosen and traditional dress.

I love Munich. It is very touristy, but it reminds me of a Boston that is in Bavaria, and awesomer. Bavaria is where it at, and I would recommend it much more highly than northern Germany.

So, now, I have 100 Euro to spend before we leave for Zürich at 4. Heading to the center of town. Maybe anotherupdate tomorrow morning, maybe not. I will definitely post again, even if its from Manchester NH.

I love you all! Thanks for following me along this crazy packed whirlwind journey. I feel like I have tried to write everything but it has eben impossible. I feel like I have had 6 months worth of experiences crammed into 2.5 weeks. OVerall, it has been rewarding and fascinating and excited and beautiful. I will be glad to head home to see the family and talk to everyone, as I miss you all. But this will not be the last extended vacation for me!

Advertisement



28th October 2010

wonderful
Sooooooooooo happy you had sich an awesome time. Can't wait to see you and hear all about it in person. Hugs mom
28th October 2010

Prost!
Great job on your blog entries! It has been a blast keeping up with your adventures from across the ocean. Keep up the fun times and I will see you soon! I will be picking you and Justin up from the airport tomorrow so I will see you tomorrow night! Love, Matt

Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.027s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0648s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb