A day full of history...


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Munich
April 13th 2006
Published: April 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Today was a very educational day. Emily wanted to go visit some art museums, so while she did that I decided to go on a tour of Hitler's Third Reich. It lasted for about 2 hours and was very interesting. I saw several different places where he lived, worked, attended meetings, fired gunshots, etc. I learned a ton about him and Munich. Munich is considered to be the birthplace of Nazism. It is where they began to have meetings and rise to power. The guide showed us places where Hitler, Mussolini, and Chamberlain had meetings and places. It was a weird thing to think about being in the same place that Hitler had once been. It makes it all seem a little more real. It was kind of neat to be in a place or see actual places that the Nazis had meetings that I have learned so much about throughout my schooling.

After Emily and I met up we went to Dachau concentration camp. This was a lot to take in and very eery. The day was actually very cold and kind of rainy, so it set the mood even more. It was really weird to be first, in a concentration camp, and then to look in the places and rooms where people were tortured and killed. The pictures were very graphic. You guys have seen pictures of people that are merely skeletons. Picture like this were all over. Bodies piled on top of one another being shoved around and burned. It was awful. Reading about how people were tortured, the stupid reasons they were tortured or killed for (the whole thing is so ridiculous and sad) really made you think. I don't know, just being in an actual concentration camp made it seem more real than just looking and reading about it in a textbook. It was a hard and sad thing. It also made you think about how much power Hitler did have. How much control and manipulation. If the Nazis watching over the prisoners at the camps did not punish the prisoners for doing something "wrong" then they would be punished as well. Everyone lived in fear. Seeing the rooms where the prisoners lived and then feeling how cold it is here in April, made you realize how horrible the conditions were. I cannot even imagine what it must have been like in the winter, let alone at all.

On another note, Emily and I are leaving in the morning for our final stop in Zurich, Switzerland. Hopefully the weather will be a bit warmer here. At least I would like to see the sun! I'm looking forward to getting back to Spain for some warmth! Hope yall are doing well and I will be adding a TON of pics once I am back tomorrow.

Enjoy your day tomorrow, Friday, and don't forget that it is Good Friday. Remember that Jesus Christ died on the cross for our human sins when He was PERFECT so that we can have an eternal life if we choose to through Him. Tomorrow and Sunday are the days that He completely fulfilled what He came to the Earth to do. Take some time to reflect on this and really think and pray about it. Happy Good Friday! Thank the Lord that He sent Christ for us!

Advertisement



14th April 2006

I hope you have a great day!
Hi Amy, I want to wish you a wonderful day and Easter...I love to read about your travels and I miss you very much. I think about you a pray for you daily. Love you, Amber

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0472s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb