Travel day...


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Munich
August 2nd 2010
Published: August 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


The train from Berlin to Munich took up most of my day. Arrived in Munich close to 4 pm and after dumping my stuff at the hotel, set out on the final leg of the epic jersey hunt. Adidas makes the German national team's jerseys, and there was an Adidas store about a half an hour's walk from my hotel. So, armed with my map, I set out. What should have been fairly easy and straightforward was not. I realized afterwards that trying to cross the road anywhere near Karlsplatz is pointless and that you should really take the subway _under_ the road. Still, I didn't get too lost, and found the store in about 45 minutes (as well as seeing some interesting sites along the way).

They... had... nothing. Seriously. Not a football jersey to be found. I was not impressed, so I wandered back into town down Leopold/Ludwigstrasse, into the Marianplatz area, and did some sightseeing/people watching, before attempting to find a restaurant that Lonely Planet recommended for dinner. Again, my navigation skills failed me royally. This time, however, I blame it on the inadequacy of Lonely Planet's maps (I downloaded a Munich city guide onto my iPhone). Half the streets weren't labelled, and I couldn't find the ones that were without heading down unlabelled streets, turning around, doubling back, taking wild guesses, and finally just happening upon the place out of sheer luck. Lonely Planet describes it as "cosy panelling and an ancient vaulted brick ceiling set the tone of this Old Munich chow house with a Franconian focus, awarded an by the Bavarian government. Home-made organic sausages are grilled to perfection , on an open beechwood fire, served on heart-shaped tim plates, and best enjoyed with a cold beer straight from the wooden keg ".

It was pouring when I left, and for whatever reason, I was exhausted. Another quiet night for Kate.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0498s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb