Guten tag from Munich, Germany


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Munich
June 1st 2008
Published: June 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Prost!

Noah and I are here in Germany now. We arrived after our 10 hour train ride from Genf, Switzerland. We leave tomorrow night for Thailand. I guess I'll fill you in on what Noah and I have been up to the past couple days. No pictures today because this internet lounge doesn't allow me to hook up my camera.

Picking up where I left off, Noah and I left the internet cafe and went to this park Noah remembered from his childhood and made lunch and had a beer. Our sandwiches were delicious. France was fun for the breif time we were there. As we returned later on, we met up with Nora and her coworker again at the lake for a beer while sitting on these rocks on this sort of pier. After all the rain that day, it was finally nice in the late afternoon to sit there. Later, Nora, Noah, and I grabbed dinner at this Indian place and it was quite good. Then we went to this gelato place which was also tasty. We caught our train home and passed out for the night.

The next day, we met up with Noah's mother's old art teacher Mr. Bouchardy. He took us too his studio where he showed us his paintings and drawings. It was really cool to see. Mr. Bouchardy was awfully hospitiable.. maybe I mean over hospitable, because I guess he assumed we were going to spend the night at his place, but when he found out we didn't bring our bags with us, I guess he understood. We had a glass of whiskey with him and then Mrs. Bouchardy set out the meal accompanied by wine she had prepared for us. Meat, but ok, I wasn't going to be rude, and I ate it. Afterwards, we agreed to meet up later to get some fondue for dinner.

Mr. Bouchardy then dropped us off at Noah's old school, where this sort of carnival/activity day/ reunion was organized and Noah got to see his old friends. We played some futbol with Noah's friends and I got real sweaty so I quit early, hehe. Then we met up with Mr. and Mrs. Bouchardy for fondue and wine. I guess I've never really had fondue before. It was awfully filling. A WHOLE lot of cheese. Geez. Mr. Bouchardy, another person that was so hospitable and care taking of us on our trip. We've been lucky to be taken care of so well.

Later on, we met up with Noah's high school friend, Oliver (and others), but it was Oliver's birthday. We met them at this Irish pub. It was pretty fun, they had live music, but it had the feeling of this pub we're used to at school, Murphy's. Then we met up with Noah's other friends at this fanciers, more expensive bar. We bought some beers and as I was nearly finished, I accidentally dropped my glass on the ground and it shattered. It was kinda funny, but everyone was looking.

This morning, we had breakfast with Dag, finally seeing him, haha. Then we caugh our 10:14am train to Müchen, Germany (Munich). We arrived and found out hotel. It's pretty nice for 30€ a piece. After dropping off our bags, we went out in search of food and beer. We went to this real old looking place and I got some tasty Perch and a wheat beer. Then Noah and I each got a pint to drink while we sat outside.

Tomorrow, we are off to Thailand. Plans still unsure, but we're trying to go to this island called Koh Samui. Beatris said it was quite pleasant and not touristy. When we arrive in Bangkok, we will be greeted by Noah's family's friends with a sign with our names on it. I've always wanted to arrive somewhere where someones waiting with a sign for me, haha! Anyway, I think I'm going to head to bed. We have some time befor our 6:45pm flight to Bangkok. I hope I can get a haircut there, I'm gettin' itchy in this heat and I can only imagine Asia.

Sorry again for the lack of photos. I'll do my best to get them up next time.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0501s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb