Day one in Munich


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Munich
October 3rd 2007
Published: October 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Wombats hostel is the place to be for sure. It´s definitely a party vibe here. I met some guys from Toronto and hung with them for a bit this afternoon. Nothing too crazy just chatting and walking around. They actually headed off to Oktoberfest later in the evening. I´m gonna be here for 5 days so I´m saving the Oktoberfest experience. Plus I was very tired from that crazy train ride. I ended up hanging with Kat another Aussie wh ois my hostel mate. There is a bar in our Hostel and it´s pretty poppin. I decided that I was just going to shower, eat, chill a bit and then just hang at the hostel bar.

WOW, it was really fun. We met this guy, Don from San Antonio, and I ended up hangin with him most of the night. He was really great company. Those Europeans are insane! Everyone was dancing on tables, some of the guys were stripping!!! hahahaha. These two European guys stripped down to their rainbow speedos and rainbow knee high socks. It was sooo funny! We danced and had a great time.

People started to come back to the hostel after Oktoberfest, which closes at 11pm and our bar closes at 2am. Everyone had Oktoberfest shirts on and Lederhosen. I´m excited to go tonight, and Thurs and then Friday with Colleen and her sister. Should be a blast.

Later in the evening, of course some guys were just over the top drunk and had to be carried out of the hostel. One was violently resistent and the cops came. Of course, we watched the whole scene from our hostel window. Drama.

Not sure how Munich takes these two weeks of drunken debaouchery. People go crazy!

Now off to another walking tour of Munich. I´m switching hostels today too, to Jaeger´s hostel. Aim - You would love it. Free shot of Jaeger when you check in.



Advertisement



3rd October 2007

I've been remiss
And haven't commented for a few days. However, it was quite the roller coaster from Rome on in, and it's been enjoyable seeing you bounce back from the down points, make some lemonade with the lemons, and move on to happy town (Munich, on beer). Oktoberfest is here, and all will be OK (except the hangover. Too bad you can't rectify that with the classic formula: gordo's burrito, Niner game, couch). Remember, think Beerfest (don't wear a white shirt or get into any drinking competitions with a group of German brothers. Everyone knows their gam gam is a w%$#@). DAS BOOT!
3rd October 2007

HELLO...I FORGOT TO TELL YOU THAT PEOPLE TOTALLY GET DRUNK AND CRAZY DURING THE OKTOBERFEST BUT OVERALL EVERYONE JUST WANT TO HAVE FUN. BE SURE TO GET ME A OKTOBERFEST T-SHIRT. HAVE FUN BUT NO STRIPPING.....
3rd October 2007

SLICE... I love reading about your adventures! And I'm super glad that you're better now =) Reading all your entries got me hopeful for my first visit to the UK (next summer, LOL). Must admit- although you're having a blast, we miss ya LOTS over here. Ok... can't wait for your next entry. *HUGS KISSES*
3rd October 2007

experience for life
I'm way behind and just read all your entries in one fell swoop. It was great to see how you've met challenges and bounced back from them. You said God is testing you, but I think you're testing you too -- you put yourself in this situation, out of your comfort zone and all alone, and you've had fun and adventures and eye-opening experiences, so kudos to you for that! It makes me thirsty to travel just reading about your time there. Looking forward to seeing your pictures. Say hi to Colleen for me!
3rd October 2007

Jaeger!!
Damn..have one for me!

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0373s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb