Ingolstadt


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Ingolstadt
May 17th 2013
Published: May 19th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Arriving in Ingolstadt, I felt every muscle in my body relax. My long-arse journey had reached its end. This is one instance when I revoke my usual belief of 'it's all about the journey' and thought "thank f*ck I've arrived". Suzanna drove us back to her place, and in my zombie-like state, we spent an hour or so comparing opinions and sharing stories on our teaching experiences, then I did something I've been longing to do for the past 30-odd hours: I took a steaming hot bubble bath. And oh my goodness, it was goooood! I could have laid in there for hours, but knowing I'd probably fall asleep, waking up cold and to the sounds of Suzanna and Christian banging on the door, needing to get ready for work, I made it brief. Ish.

I woke up on Tuesday morning to a silent, pitch-black room, bar the slither of light peeping under the door. Busting for a wee, but not wanting to hop in the bathroom and disturb Su and Christian's morning routine, I stayed in bed a while longer. Then, when my bladder couldn't take any more, I checked the time, and, seeing it was 9am, I realised
that my hosts were already long-gone, so I got up.

I made myself a wonderful breakfast of scrambled eggs mixed with multiple cheeses and bread. It was the first time I've actually cooked in over two months and I found it surprisingly enjoyable. Not as enjoyable as the eating, though.

Afterwards, feeling over-stuffed but content, I kicked back with a coffee and did something that I haven't done in about fourteen months: watched TV. I didn't have a TV in Korea (by choice) and although I'd half-heartedly glanced at friends' TVs, I haven't properly vegged out and devotedly watched a whole TV show since leaving the UK in 2011. I'm not a TV person, and although I had the Big Bang Theory and How I Met Your Mother box sets in Korea, I would only ever watch them whilst doing something else. So, I idly sat on the sofa with a blanket over me (still acclimatising to European weather), flicking between American sitcoms, wildlife documentaries and, of course, Top Gear. Ah, western indulgences.

Later in the evening, Suzanna made a fantabulous dinner of salad, pasta, asparagus, potatoes, and mango, and then tried to convince Christian and I that a zombie apocalypse is in our future. We humoured her, of course, then Suzanna and I went on to discuss how successful a zombie our dear friend Pumpkin would be. He didn't fare well in our imaginary plans, bless him.

Wednesday and Thursday were chill days, in which I just lazed around and did a little shopping and people watching from cafes in town. I also went in search of Kopparberg, but, alas, I came back empty handed.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.156s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0537s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb