Hiking


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Garmisch-Partenkirchen
August 18th 2011
Published: August 18th 2011
Edit Blog Post

The weather in Garmish for the past few days has been unusually great! It is sunny and warm, but not too warm and if it has rained it is only for a bit in the morning. Rachel and I decided last week that since we both had the 16th off together that we would go ahead and hike the Kramer (It is a mountain that I look at out my bedroom window) So we did just that. We were hiking to the top for about 4.5-5 hours and we knew there was a cross at the top but we did not realize that there are two other crosses that we had to pass along the way in order to reach the top of the Kramer. It was really disappointing to think we were almost done with our hike only to learn we had about another hour, hour and a half to go. But it was totally worth it. When we got to the top the view of the city was beautiful. Unfortunately there was a cloud on the other side of the Kramer so we couldn't really see the view off the back side of the mountain.
We ate lunch at the top so we could rest our legs mostly, and I looked across the valley and noticed we were way above the Wank, which is the other mountain that I have hiked since being here. It was also really cool to look down and see paragliders so far away looking so small. Usually you look up and see them but it was amazing to have to look down at them, and they were smaller from the top of the Kramer than they are from the ground. Rachel and I both agreed that we really wished we were able to paraglide down to the base of the Kramer because we had no energy to hike back down. But we obviously sucked it up and hiked back down, longest 2.5 hours of my life, and it was funny because passing points on the way down that we had passed on the journey up just seemed so different, like it had been years since the last time I had seen them.
It was really an amazing hike, the views were awesome and thankfully when I woke up the next day my body didn't hate me, we may have been in a fight but we were still on speaking terms.
Also, yesterday I went to this indoor/outdoor pool in Garmish, it was awesome. On the inside there were waterslides and diving boards, hot tubs and a pool. On the outside there was a bigger pool and places to lay out. It was not an exciting day but I have honestly never been happier to sit by a pool in beautiful weather than I was yesterday.
On Monday coming up me and some friends are headed to Salzburg, which is really exciting, I can't wait to see where the Sound of Music was filmed!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.162s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0993s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb