Working...


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Garmisch-Partenkirchen
August 7th 2011
Published: August 18th 2011
Edit Blog Post

The job I have in Alpine Adventures is really very cool. I am learning about all the cool things in the area because I tell people about them everyday. I give people directions on how to give their tickets and how to take the train, I give directions on driving and explain tours that I myself have never been on. But no worries, I will definitely be going on these tours because they all sound awesome.

It is nice that there are people here who have been here so long and really know the area. The other day I hiked the Wank (pronounced Vank...) with a couple guys and it was awesome because that is not somewhere I would have thought to hike myself. It took us about 3 hours to get up the mountain and we rode the Wankbahn down (like a gondola). We had views of the Bavarian Alps and from the top we could even see over into Austria. It was about 1800 meters up that we hiked.

I have also been exploring a lot of the other trails on the mountain behind where I live. The next day Rachel and I have off together we plan to climb all the way to the top of the Kromer which is the mountain that is behind us. It is going to be awesome.

A few of us also went into Munich the other day just to walk around and explore. For 12.5 million people I was definitely expecting there to be more in the city than there was. They had a really cool farmers market type place and a really old church. We walked by the one plaza in Munich that Hitler has used to rally the people. So weird to think that he could have been in the very spot that I was standing in at one time.

There is really not much I can put for this blog, for the most part here I am either working, hiking/running, cooking dinners with some amazing people or sleeping. Tough life I know.

And of course, I can't wait to start traveling there are so many possibilities!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0393s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb