Day 4 - Dachau/Munich


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Dachau
May 3rd 2015
Published: May 18th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Day 4 - Dachau/Munich


Today I went to Dachau Concentration Camp for the 70th commemoration of its liberation. The place was really interesting, and the ceremonies were also really well done, but there were a little too many people there for my liking. However, I did get the chance to meet Angela Merkel, the German Prime Minister!!!!!! When we met I was so star struck that I only mumbled for a few, shoock her hand then finally was able to utter “hi,” which she then also said back “Hi,” and I shockingly I was also able to say “Dunka” (which means thank you in German). Sadly, you can only elbow survivors out of your way for soo long…(kidding), that I wasn’t able to get an actually photo her with but only one as she’s coming up to me. I also realized when I got there that you were supposed to register and pay (if you weren’t a survivor) for the ceremonies, but in all the chaos around the German PM, I just walked within a meter behind her the entire time and people thought I was part of her Entourage so I easily got into EVERYTHING!!!! But if you look at the press pictures of her, I am sure you would be able to find my head bobbing around behind her shoulder everywhere. Her speech was also incredible and really well done, afterward I toured the museum and then went to Munich for a few hours to explore.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.332s; Tpl: 0.056s; cc: 13; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0471s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb