More Sightseeing


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France
March 11th 2006
Published: June 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 48.8566, 2.35097

Had a sleep in this morning and then caught the bus to Sacre Couer. This area seemed a bit dodgy, but I did buy lots of cheap postcards. Sacre Couer sits on a hill, so I took the cable car up which was quite lazy as there weren't many steps at all. There was a great view of the city from here. The inside of the church has a beautiful mosaic ceiling. Mass had just started. There were lots of priests and nuns singing in French. I slowly climbed to the top of the dome, which is the 2nd highest point in Paris after the Eiffel Tower. My knees are sick and tired of stairs.Finally made it. It was cold and windy, but at least I had my scarf and gloves today. The gargoyles look like they are about to vomit. This area is full of artists wanting to draw tourists- no thank-you I told them. <br style="color: rgb(17, 17, 17); font-family: arial, sans-serif; font-size: 12.8px; line-height: 17.92px;">Had salad and pizza for lunch- will try snails another day. Went to the Espace Montmarte Salvador Dali, where there are over 300 of his works. I liked his sculptures, especially the ones of the melted clocks. Caught the metro to the Musee Carnavalet, which is about the history of Paris. Would have been more interesting if it wasn't all written in French. Anyway it all looked okayWent to the supermarket for dinner. I had strawberries from Spain, baguette from France, prosciutto crudo from Italy and white chocolate from the UK! What a multicultural meal.


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0233s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb