The Nastiest Meal in all of France


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France
October 22nd 2006
Published: October 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

It was my last night in Central France. The next day I was heading to Paris, and then flying home. It was time to SPLURGE!

I size up a nice restaurant. Probably in a building over 1,000 years old. Really picturesque. I read the menu outside. Hmmm... Cunard. It's time for DUCK. Yes, I envision a nice roast duck, potatos, garnishes, the works. In the heartland of France, none the less!! This will be great.

I am seated at a table, and order the Cunard. It's ok that it will cost me €50. I deserve this, haven't had a real 'sit down' meal all day, for several days for that matter, so what's 50 euros? Money invested, for sure. Invested in memories of a great meal.

I sit there at the table waiting, eating bread, drinking eau mineral. At last, my cunard arrives.

Huh? I expected a nice large roasted duck. Instead is a small slice of what looked like SPAM.. you know, the CANNED fake HAM? Maybe it is really good, I thought. After all, this is €50 euros. FIFTY EUROS for a slice of SPAM. I take a small bite. Pure fat. Like eating a chunk of lard. Ohh, the garnish on the top, a clear jel. I gingerly cut off another piece and dip it in the clear jel. Alcoholic smell. Horrid. Just horrid. I mess up my plate enough to make it look like I ate something, whip out my fifty euros, smack it on the table and disappear into the night. They got me. Ripped me off, they did.

Press here to credit the account that will send a smile around the world!!!
Help My Wings GROW!. I accept Paypal, Visa or Mastercharge, and of course, American Express. I'll even accept foreign currency. So don't be bashful, a few bucks won't break the bank!


Back to Square 1

Advertisement



Tot: 0.479s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0759s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb