Caesar vs Asterix and driving in France


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France
May 29th 2015
Published: May 29th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Today was a driving day. I traveled from Beaune to the outskirts of Paris and spent a number of hours on the motorway to do it. France has a good freeway system and it is pay-as-you-go, ie I take a ticket when I enter the freeway and then pay when I get off. It is all automated and some of the machines accept my credit card, but most don't, so I have to be sure I have small bills and coin with me. The trip today cost a little over €25, which is close to $30. I stopped for awhile at the MuseoParc Alesia (see picture). It is a very good museum telling the story of how Rome's legions, under the generalship of Julius Caesar, conquered the Gauls in 52 BC. I particularly liked the full scale replica of a section of the Roman fortification (see picture) and the fact that, on the roof of the museum, they worked in the characters from the Asterix comic books (see picture). On the drive to Paris I crossed over the Burgundy Canal (see picture). The lock is just like the ones we passed through during our barge trip in 1990. And I passed through the medieval-looking town of Semur-en-Auxois and snapped a photo because it was so picturesque (see picture).


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.637s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 53; dbt: 0.3996s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb