Arriving in Arras


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France
August 13th 2011
Published: August 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone,

I decided to write a travel blog in order to keep in touch with friends and family back home during my semester in France. I will try my best to update regularly on the happenings at work as a guide, as well as my travels.

So let's begin...

Day one



I started my trip from Ottawa on Friday, August 12th. My first flight to Montréal was delayed about 40 minutes, makng me and my travel buddy (Gorana) very nervous about our already tight connection to Paris. After a reassuring conversation with the air hostess and a quick run through the Montréal airport, we met with some fellow guides on the way to the flight to Paris. Generally uneventful flight, apart from having very good conversations with Gorana over my first glass of wine of the trip. (I later found out the drinking air during an international flight is 21...but who's counting?)

Arriving in Paris, we went to buy our carte 12-25, which is a student card for discounted train tickets, as well as direct tickets to Arras. The man selling us our tickets asked if we were here to learn to speak French (slightly insulting). Sat, as is customary during my travels, on the floor of the airport, and found some food to eat. At this point, it was around noon Paris time, still 6h am Ottawa time.

The train to Arras almost left without us - apparently they have a very tight schedule and were less than impressed with us all trying to get in the right car to get to our seats. Met some more guides here, and spent the 50 minutes chatting and dozing.

Arras is a small town, in the north of France, quite close to the boarder with Belgium. Wednesdays and Saturdays, they have markets in the Grand'Place (they're verison of Ottawa's Byward Market, if you will). We arrived Saturday, so first impression was good! They also have a Petite Place, which they nickname "Place des Héros". Interesting history! (for more read about Arras here)

More to come.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb