Happy New Year from Paris !


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France
December 30th 2009
Published: December 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

My very best wishes for a very Happy and Healthy 2010 to all my friends and family................ Here are some photos from the French capital, where I arrived on Dec.24. The snow has melted and it's actually quite mild............... Coming soon: another article on my new blog at Hilary Kaiser's weblog , which I hope you'll enjoy.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

"La Grande Roue""La Grande Roue"
"La Grande Roue"

at the bottom of the Champs-Elysées on the Place de la Concorde, in front of the Tuilleries Gardens
Champs-Elysées at nightChamps-Elysées at night
Champs-Elysées at night

Thank you, Adrian, for this photo!
Eiffel TowerEiffel Tower
Eiffel Tower

taken from Pasteur metro stop not far from where I live.
scene from film "Julie and Julia"scene from film "Julie and Julia"
scene from film "Julie and Julia"

Meryll Streep playing the role of Julia Child. My son Sebastien, his wife Aurelia and I watched the video I brought from the U.S. on Christmas night.
Cordon bleuCordon bleu
Cordon bleu

Julia Child took cooking lessons at the Cordon Bleu. The school moved to the 15th arrondissement quite a few years ago and is now just down the street from where I live!
Xmas Eve meal at Sébastien and Aurelia'sXmas Eve meal at Sébastien and Aurelia's
Xmas Eve meal at Sébastien and Aurelia's

from left to right: Aurelia, son Marc, me, Aurélia's grandparents, Aurelia's parents, Marlo (Marc's girlfriend), and son Sebastien.


30th December 2009

Happy 2010 Hilary
I loved your pictures Hilary! It made me long to be in beautiful Paris once again. We are all ending the decade as well as 2009 and starting a new decade and 2010. Life has presented us with a very auspicious sign for that occasion. We are going to be treated to a "Blue Moon". I just found out that a "Blue Moon" is a full moon that occurs twice in one month. We had our first full moon on Dec 2nd and now we will be treated to our 2nd full moon (the "Blue Moon") on Dec 31st. A "Blue Moon" has not occurred since June 2007 and who knows how long it has been since it has happened on New Years Eve at the turn of the decade? Not a bad way to celebrate the ending of the old and welcoming the new. I send you hugs and love....Edie
30th December 2009

Noel! Noel!
Thanks so much for this, Hilary. The city never looked more beautiful except in my memories. Great to see the table of smiling faces including Marc and Marlo. Please give them a big hug for us.
31st December 2009

Happry New Year !!
Hi Hilary So good to see you looking very happy amongst your circle of friends.We wish you lots of HAPPINESS in the year ahead.May all your hopes and dreams be fulfilled! Much love GABY and Julian
31st December 2009

Happy New Year 2010
Hi Hilary, Great Pictures from Paris. Health and continued quality time with your Parisian family during the rest of your stay. Many good wishes for 2010. I send my greetings from NYC where it is snowing at 11:00 on the 31st. Fondly, Mary Lynne
31st December 2009

Bonjour
Dear Hilary, So good to hear from you in Paris. I hope you have a wonderful time there. You must have brought some of our weather with you! See you in late Jan. Love, Sue
31st December 2009

Et pour toi aussi !
magnifique, on esaie de se voir en janvier, bises, janick
5th January 2010

Happy New Year!!
Great pictures--since I missed Christmas in Paris. But it was lovely in Denver with lots of snow. Happy 2010!
16th January 2010

Happy New Year
A very happy new year to you Hilary. I hope that 2010 will be as exciting and interesting as 2009. I have really enjoyed reading your blogs for 2009 with all the fascinating photo's. I shall look forward to continuing to do so in the coming year. Very best wishes Sandra

Tot: 0.213s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0795s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb