Paris "sous la neige": Snowy Paris


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France
January 8th 2010
Published: January 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Eiffel Tower, New Year's EveEiffel Tower, New Year's EveEiffel Tower, New Year's Eve

view from my friends' apartment on the Champs de Mars
It’s COLD here, often 0°C. or less. Everyone is bundled up in heavy coats, scarves, hats or ear-muffs, and boots. It’s even snowed some in the last few days. (see photos below.) What a change from California (where I'll be returning January 23)! I had a nice New Year’s Eve at friends and gave a little “open house” on New Year’s Day. Now, it’s doctor’s appointments and many other medically-related tests and purchases (i.e. eye glasses, orthopedic soles, allergy medicine, etc.) that I like to have done in France because I have health coverage here. I’ve also been visiting art exhibits; going to talks, book signings, concerts, and movies; and enjoying seeing friends and my sons Sebastien and Marc. My Christmas present this year from Seb and his wife Aurelia was the announcement that Aurelia is expecting their first child (and my first grandchild) at the beginning of July. I couldn’t be more delighted.

If you click on the following link to my other blog, “Thoughts and Travels of a Franco-American" at Hilary Kaiser's Weblog , you’ll find an article I’ve written entitled “Health Care à la francaise”. Two other articles have been posted and more will be appearing soon, so if you’d like to receive a notice when they appear and a direct link, please be so kind as to “subscribe”. (There’s a box to do this in the right-hand column of the Weblog.) Then you’ll receive a one-time only email asking you to confirm your subscription. Another way to link on to this blog is to use this address: http://hilarykaiser.wordpress.com

Finally, some people have written to tell me that when they tried to reply to my Travelblog entry, they got a "no reply" message. You can't just click "reply" when receiving announcements from Travelblog. Rather, when you read my entry, you'll see some possibilities for replying on the left-hand column. You can click on “private message” or on “add a comment”. A message remains private and comes directly to me, whereas a comment is first submitted to me by Travelblog for acceptance or rejection for public reading on Travelblog.

That's all, folks! Thanks and "a bientot."



Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Alcazar ReunionAlcazar Reunion
Alcazar Reunion

yearly alumni reunion of the American School of Paris at the Alcazar cafe in the Latin Quarter. The lady in the middle was my French teacher "years ago."
park across the streetpark across the street
park across the street

under the snow...My apartment building is the red-brick one in the background
at the American Libraryat the American Library
at the American Library

Charles Trueheart and John Baxter introducing speaker, Leslie Caron, who has just published her memoirs.
an American in Parisan American in Paris
an American in Paris

clip from the film at the ALP before Leslie Caron spoke to us
Altan signing CD'sAltan signing CD's
Altan signing CD's

Altan is a delightful group from Ireland that gave a concert at the Theatre de la Ville on Chatelet Square last Friday night


10th January 2010

ah, Paris comme vous manque!
Thanks, Hilary, for your update and photos. It takes me back to my life living and teaching in the Most Wonderful Place, especially one winter when I returned from traveling in January and Paris was under a blanket of about one foot of snow. Muffled sounds, clean, crisp air, such beauty everywhere. I am so glad that your visit it going well. See you in San Francisco after the 27 January. Bisous, Diane
10th January 2010

snow in Paris
Hilary. Good photos of a beautiful city. Do you appreciate Paris under the snow with new eyes now that you're a world traveler?? Enjoy your travels. Best, Betty
11th January 2010

Meilleurs voeux
Merci pour ces photos parisiennes. Le fait d'habiter à côté de Paris nous fait oublier les beautés de la capitale et vos photos nous les révèlent dans la vie quotidienne. Merci Hilary pour ces témoignages chaleureux.
11th January 2010

et Verriéres aussi!
Bravo pour toutes ces photos qui pour nous bien sûr sont moins exotiques que d'autres. Merci de tes voeux et de ton invitation pour le jour de l'an, je vois que tu es toujours très active et je me demande si nous vivons dans le même monde ! Ce que l'on fait me paraît beaucoup moins varié que ce que tu fais toi ! je peux te donner (par exemple) rendez-vous la semaine prochaine à partir de 17 heures si tu veux à Paris du côté du boulevard raspail. j'y vais deux fois par semaine pour mes séminaires à l'EHESS.

Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0728s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb