Foie Gras and Brewery


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France
June 2nd 2009
Published: June 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today was our last day in France. It was a little bitter sweet. I am going to miss it but I am so ready to go home. We woke up early this morning to go to a place that specializes is making foie gras which is goose liver that is made into a paste like substance. I have a motto that I will try anything once and so I did. First we got a tour of the facility and watched a little video on the process of making it. The guy who gave us the tour here was different because he had not had family members that started in the business like the cheese and chocolate. He first was working and retail and decided that foie gras was something he liked and was passionate about.Then we had a tasting. We had both the goose and a duck option. The goose wasn't bad but it had a weird after taste in my opinion but I also tried the duck one and I think that was my favorite. It tasted better.Foie Gras is controversial in America because the geese are force fed. It is actually forbidden in New York so far. We also got a little glass of wine to go with it. It was weird because I think it is the first time ive drank wine so early. Then afterwards we had a little time to shop and eat lunch. I bought chocolate from Christoph's ,another eiffel tower for a friend , then some cigars for my boyfriend. Then we a few of us met up to go to the Brewery. Some people decided not to go but they missed out it was awesome. We first were given an explanation of the ingredients necessary to make beer and shown the different ingredients that make different kinds. Then we got a tour of the facility. We also watched a video on the company and it showed some of there older advertisements because they are no longer allowed to advertise beer or things that are bad for your health. After the tour we got to have a tasting. It was awesome. He let us try as many as we wanted. They don't pasteurize there beer here so it tastes different. It has a lot more flavor. I think i ended up trying about four different kinds and they were all pretty good. I think I will be looking for them in the US. Although I also tried Genius for the first time today and was not too fond of it. I think it was a little too dark for me. I was very glad I decided to go. I ended up buying a lot of souvenirs as well.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0424s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb