2 days in Paris - Capital of LOVE


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France
October 9th 2007
Published: October 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Tour EiffelTour EiffelTour Eiffel

at midnight, when France won against New Zealand on the rugby semi-final
Wow..if you would have asked me last year what will happen now..I wouldn't have been able to tell you. It's just unbelieavable! Belgium it's already old to me..so..heh...let's chat a little about Paris. It was sunny, over 20 degrees (too bad I didn't take any t-shirt) green and vivid.
Started wondering with the garden of Louvre Museum (open to the public, being continued by a huge green park) and it's surroundings. At the same time, could see that the city was preparing for "La Nuit Blanche" everywhere. (maybe you know that this event is meant to keep the whole city dancing and partying all night and it happened everywhere around the world, on different dates: the last was Paris). Somewhere after noon entered the museum. WOW and WOW! It's absolutely huge! I felt like entering in a mall! Hahahah...the entrance was 9 euro, but if you are smart enough to go on Friday, is free. Either way, 9 euro is a small amount for the wonders seen there. The museum has 4 entrances (after the main one) that communicate with each other. Each entrance has something attractive: famous paintings, famous sculptures, relicvs and even the reproduction of a castle.
Turkish HAMAMTurkish HAMAMTurkish HAMAM

in Paris? Oh, dear!!
Louvre seems to have been a castle before. Now is the perfect spot for a museum. Each floor displays something different. I don't have enough words to describe it, you simply must visit it.
Then the second thing on the visiting list was L'Arc de Triomphe. For that I crossed (on foot) the entire Champs Elisees. It was a wonderful experience. I've seen how weird the French people can dress, how extravagant some shops can be (or some cafes as well) and why is so popular after all. At the end of this 1 hour walk, there was the arch. The view was very, let's say, "shiny", as the Eiffel Tower was glittering not so far away. For the Arch one can also take the elevator up, but it costs about 9 euro again and it's closing at 6pm 😞
The last attraction of the day: Eiffel Tower! It was shining so much - maybe because that very night France and New Zealand (it was a rugby match) were deciding who's going in the final....France did. So, at midnight the city turned into a show of lights, cries of happiness and for me looked pretty much like our
Place de la ConcordePlace de la ConcordePlace de la Concorde

more than 20 degrees in the first week of October!
parties on New Year 😊) Took lots of pictures there and then the metro back to the hostel. Maybe I should mention here that the metro is really nice and easy to understand (I mean, its map) and is the best way to avoid the traffic jams and to move from one turistic place to another in a short notice. For that night it was enough. Next day I decided to go again to the Eiffel Tower. First I visited Musee d'Orsay and it was quite impressive. One thing I discovered: these French museums are so tiring and feet aching!! Ough! But the good thing is that I've seen my favouring painters there and I bought a reproduction after my favourite painter (as seen in the photo). At the Eiffel Tower, the sun was up. We took lots of pics, ate a sandwich (5 euros for a cold and hard bread with meat and cheese - NEVER buy food from there if you care about yourself) what ended mostly as food for the hundreds of hungry pigeons around those benches and decided to visit Notre Dame de Paris before going back to the hostel.
Well, there - surprise: hundreds
Renting bikesRenting bikesRenting bikes

unfortunately for us, you need a daily registration card :((
of people and no way to go forward. I was so so sad! But finally figured out where was the entrance and managed to visit this VERY TALL cathedral. In that moment I understood why is so famous. It's beautifully decorated, has nice statues and as soon as you walk in, you have the feeling it's a different realm. The only question I still have in mind is: where was the hunchback living? (I haven't seen any stairs and it looks like there's no attick..).

Well, that's about it. I couldn't write more because of 2 reasons: my unreliable wireless connection and the fact that we stayed just 2 days there. But for more info, don't hesitate to post your comments over here. And if you liked it, well..again post your comments.
P.S.: They offer maps of the city/bus/metro/tram ways everywhere..don't buy a big one from home 😊

Enjoy reading....................Mona 😉


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Monalisa/ GiocondaMonalisa/ Gioconda
Monalisa/ Gioconda

so close..so far..so SMALL :))
Once a mummy..Once a mummy..
Once a mummy..

..always...aaa..well, a sarcophagus (might be misspelled)
MummyMummy
Mummy

straight from Egypt..into the Louvre
The pyramid in my handsThe pyramid in my hands
The pyramid in my hands

isn't that small? :))
Citroen's new carCitroen's new car
Citroen's new car

watch the red one :P
Musee d'OrsayMusee d'Orsay
Musee d'Orsay

free entrace on Sundays
La SeineLa Seine
La Seine

HUNGRY..they were having lunch on that boat! GRRRR
Venus de MiloVenus de Milo
Venus de Milo

At Louvre: free entrance on Friday for those under 26 (or maybe for everyone)
Arc de Triomphe at nightArc de Triomphe at night
Arc de Triomphe at night

bad camera..but cool site
Musee d'OrsayMusee d'Orsay
Musee d'Orsay

mini room
La chambre de Van GoghLa chambre de Van Gogh
La chambre de Van Gogh

My favourite painting..I bought a reproduction
Touluse-Lautrec "Moulin Rouge"Touluse-Lautrec "Moulin Rouge"
Touluse-Lautrec "Moulin Rouge"

I wish I could attach all the pics I took with the paintings..they r so beautiful..
Botanical GardenBotanical Garden
Botanical Garden

next time we'll enter..this time, just the wall pic
Notre Dame de ParisNotre Dame de Paris
Notre Dame de Paris

they were celebrating 100 yrs of scouting..lots of ppl..bleah!
Notre Dame de ParisNotre Dame de Paris
Notre Dame de Paris

peaceful and grandious
Street book shopsStreet book shops
Street book shops

right near La Seine
Get your "Notre Dame" MedalGet your "Notre Dame" Medal
Get your "Notre Dame" Medal

only here! (honestly, I think this place became too commercial - that's sad, I know)
Traffic jamTraffic jam
Traffic jam

near the Bazaar..hahahaha


9th October 2007

mmmm..mmmmummmmy
once a mummy, always a mummy... horray! :-D
18th May 2010

nice
Nice description of your trip in our city :) Paris Capital of pleasure

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 15; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0563s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb