the fascinating and frightening world of the BD


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Upper Normandy » Le Havre
November 9th 2010
Published: November 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday, Monday, I spent my first full day as guest bookseller at La Galerne bookshop in Le Havre. This large bookshop over two levels offers a wide range of books across many different themes. I spent the morning in bandes dessinees and the afternoon in essais/beaux livres.
There are BDs in many genres from historical and realist to BDs for young girls and children. Among the ones for young girls was one that celebrated shopping! I don't think that I will be ordering that one for Language International. Pascal runs the department was very warm and welcoming. He was happy to show me his favourites which again gave me another perspective on the genre. The strangest one so far (or should that be, most obscure?)is the BD that mocks wine critic Robert Parker.
The essais/beaux livres section has an overwhelming range of topics - philosophy, psychology, sciences, religion, 'temoignages', history, art, music, art and music criticism, self-healing and self-improvement, current affairs of the world as well as France etcetera.
It had cleared up by the time I left the bookshop but it rained during the morning and the wind is rather cold. The first thing I do each day when I wake is log on to check the weather( free WiFi is wonderful). I have to buy some more paper today as I have run out of A4 for making notes!
Better head off and get some breakfast!

Advertisement



9th November 2010

Rena 2
It took me a while to realise one had to look at next entry to see if there was another one. Love, Rena
9th November 2010

It seems that you have spent wonderful time at La Galerne bookshop in Le Havre. By reading your post I get very curious about the variety of books that can be found there! I would be very happy if you also share your favorites!

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0322s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb