of prizewinners and Strawberry Shortcake


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Upper Normandy » Le Havre
November 10th 2010
Published: November 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

About to start another working day. Yesterday was full of awe and revelation. M. Houellebecq's win in the Prix Goncourt took no one by surprise but did generate a lot of sales for the book. Gilles highly recommend that I read Purge by Sofi Oksanen which has just been translated into French and is set in Estonia during and after WW2.I'll have to see if it has been published in English. The French seem to have an even greater penchant for Scandanavian authors than the English speaking world. I am also discovering that there are quite a few works by local authors.
I spent yesterday morning in large format literature. The wall of Le Pleiade titles is rather striking and I even got to witness someone buying one! These are the beautiful sleeved leather bound editions, maybe one day I will order the Proust one! It was good to realise that I had heard of many of the more important authors but I have also discovered a series which publishes books set in different provinces which should prove quite interesting!
The afternoon was spent looking at children's books - so much to look at. I was primarily interested in 0-3 and was even able to direct one customer to the Strawberry Shortcake books - Charlotte Fraise in French. I will need to go back and look at the older section in depth.
Last night Tim and I ventured closed to home for dinner. We have been going to Le Grignot but after 3 meals they do not greet us any more warmly. Dinner was more expensive last night but the greeting was far warmer. We'll eat in our rooms tonight to make up for the extra expense! I had Daurade ( a fish) and Tim had a steak with red wine sauce. It is strange but this trip again we note a lack of vegetables so usually order a green salad as well.
Tim explored the shops at the Docks complex yesterday and will venture to Rouen for a few hours today. Rouen has a respected university, Le Havre's uni only has 8000 students and no presitgious faculties. Think smaller than Deakin.

Advertisement



10th November 2010

Purge
Hi Andree I can see that you are having fun, Purge was translated in English in 2010 and is available in paperback . Hope the weather will get better, here we are having a heatwave, mid to high twenties XOXOJP

Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0264s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb