February catch up time


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Rhône-Alpes » Val-d'Isère
March 8th 2007
Published: March 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone,
Well it has been ages since we last updated this as we are terribly lazy and resent having to pay a fortune for the internet. I hope you realise this is costing me a whole weeks wages! If there are lots of typos it's cause the keys keep sticking and not cause I am bad at typing.

Anyway, I hope everybody is well and looking forward to springtime. We have been getting slightly bored here with the whole routine of cooking and cleaning plus I really can't face most of the dinners anymore. It's too much effort to change our menu plans though so I'm living off mustard mayo sarnies and Weetabix. At first we were really getting to know the guests but now it seems as though we are churning them out and it's getting more difficult to learn their names especially cause they all look the same and blur into one.

Angus was rather tired of skiing (yes I know we are spoilt) so he swapped his skis for a board and has been teaching himself that for the last wk. He doesn't quite look the part though without the dreads and trousers down below his arse. A barman didn't actually believe he was a seasonaire the other wk and he had to show proof-it's cause he's not wearing all the Billabong attire, sunglasses and a hat inside the clubs and walking with an arrogant swagger!
Anyway, I had hit a lull with skiing in that I could ski but haven't really improved my technique when on the really steep reds so I went into the same level ski school again this wk to try and fine tune a few things. However, the instructor didn't push us at all, got us to go down greens and some people were so rubbish they held us all up including a cockney wide boy Liam Gallagher lookalike who liked filming us in sync. I was meant to go today but bunked off and said I was ill as it has been such a waste of time. Oh well, we get it for free so I haven't lost any money. Since writing this something has just clicked and I am now skiing properly on the steep scary slopes. I have gained loads of confidence and have started pointing my skiis downhill and just bombing it down. In fact I am now just as fast as Angus (well on his board anyway). Yey I am so chuffed and really enjoying it. I'm not quite sure what happened but now I look pro and might go and hit the park for some 360's-mmmm.
Last week it snowed for a whole 7 days which hasn't happened since we've been here. It made the skiing slightly harder as there were massive moguls everywhere but at least I didn't hurt myself when I landed face first yesterday-oops!

February has been such a busy month cause the whole of Europe have school holidays. We had a group of teachers and it turns out one works with my Mum! I didn't find this out till 4am when I was waving them off on the coach and he took a hideous piccie of me to mail Mum when he got to work the next day-she was rather shocked I think especially cause I looked so minging. We also had a family where the Dad was blind due to a genetic disorder (can't remember the name). Anyway, stupidly he was booked into the tiny attic room with a sloping ceiling??? He was such a lovely guy and his kids were so cute-the 5yr old could already draw better than me. The guests have been quite a mixture including some rather young BA pilots last wk-pwooragh-Top gun!

Angus' family were on holiday in Morzine at half term so we were due to drive over there (3hrs away) after dinner on Tues night and stay for Wed as it's day off. However, we had cancelled the hire car cause Chris said we could take the van and then Angus crashed it and smashed 2 of the windows when he came to pick me up from a girlie night at the pub (Sods law-first time he's ever had to pick me up)! The van had to be repaired and it was too busy to hire another car so we had to cancel our trip. Angus was so upset as he had been really excited to see his folks plus you start to get cabin fever here so it would have been great to get out of the resort for a bit. It's fine when you don't think about home and you just get on with things but as soon as you expect to meet up with someone it's all you can think about so he was a bit sad for a few days-ahhhhh.

As some of you are probably aware (or not as you bu***rs didn't send me many cards) it was my birthday last week. It was a rather weird day cause I had to work obviously although I was allowed a lie-in. The Xbox comp/festival was on here so we went to see the jumps but it was snowed off so Angus and I played pool and then came back to watch my 'Sex and the City' box set he bought me whilst drinking gin and then having to cook (bit of a blur). We went out for dinner with the guys the next night so that we could get really drunk and not have to worry about getting up the next day. I picked a really cute place called La Casserole and we had raclette which was quite interesting. One of the meats tasted like the smell of the Canterbury Tales (Geoff you will get that) and I had to try really hard not to spit it out. The French owner was a bit scary and wouldn't let us have a discount even though we have sent lots of guests there and glared at us when we came in as we had to book the table for 10pm to allow us to cook for the guests first. We then went off to drink some Absinthe-cheers Angus- and party away the evening. Typically the one night I wanted some piccies and the camera battery was dead-boooohooo, so none on here for a while I'm afraid which makes this rather like a big long essay.

Last month I was sent various parcels inc gossip mags and some of my fav cloths (chalet is 30 degrees so needn't have bothered bringing jumpers) but they didn't turn up even though it takes 4-5 days from the UK. Anyway, by chance a guy on the street said the parcels were at his place (called chalet Silvestre so obviously Silver ski holidays is the same thing-doh, stupid postman). Unfortunately I went over there on my own the first time and I was so scared. It was like something out of a horror film! Firstly, it was not situated on the main rd but up the mountain and didn't have a path up to it so I had to wade through knee-deep snow-not good for a quick getaway. I was greeted by a shabby wooden shack with a junk yard outside and dead plants etc. A stoned Irish guy answered the door and didn't understand me and then said I had to go to the chalet above (joined on but meant clambering up even more snow). When I got upstairs there was a creepy ancient rocking horse by the door, lots of birds nests and antique books/furniture. Again a stoned guy answered and made me go inside-I think it was a squat-mattresses on the floor etc. I waited at the bottom of the stairs but he made me go up before he would give me my post and four guys just stared at me whilst I babbled away nervously. I think they were all ski bums-don't really see the point being here if they can't even afford a lift pass! As soon as I got my parcels I pegged it out of the door nearly tripping over some rustic bicycle and broken sofa in the snow and didn't look back. That was until last wk when I had to go there again but I took Angus this time for support.

Last week we found out that we have had a complaint-the only one of the whole season. It was from a bunch of Hoorah Henrys who were 24-30ish, all snobby boarding school types with jobs in the city darling! One girl hated me straight away cause she told me in a patronising tone that she is an inner-city lawyer so I replied with, '3 of my housemmates from Uni are outer-city lawyers'. She didn't really like the fact I wasn't a thick slave who didn't bow down at her feet for being so impressed with her career. They were all obsessed with nakedness and sex and keep skiing topless etc and stripping in the chalet after drinking obscene amounts (that was quite funny actually). Anyway, they obviously weren't used to chalet holidays and especially not with our company where it is all very sociable and we eat/live with the guests. The first line of the complaint said we treated the chalet like our home and sat in the lounge??? I'm sorry, I forgot we were meant to cook and then hide in our bedrooms all day! One of them asked me if they were quite tidy and I told him they were the messiest group we have ever had-he seemed quite surprised. One girl was normal and didn't know the majority of them-she was so embarrassed by them and kept apologising. Len (who owns the company) hates people like this so he's blacklisting them and will probably reply with a sarcastic letter. It's so cool being the boss!


The other piece of news is that Steve is finally leaving this Sun (yey-we really don't like him and have to try and sneak out to the pub without him). The guy replacing him is our age and worked a season last yr so hopefully he will be pretty cool. I have nothing against older people (no offence rents) but he is just weird and pervs on 18 yr olds-enough said.

I am off now as I can here my DVD player calling or maybe my book..., you read so much here-8 books already! I didn't even read that many last year.

Ta-ra folks.
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
P.S.
If any of you have written comments and you can' see them it's not cause we've rejected them. Sometimes they are sent to us as a message and there is no way of publishing them.

















Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



16th March 2007

Massive Hair
Mate I thought the idea of this ski season was to get some big air, not big hair. Flippin eck I think you have eclipsed some of my longest dodgy barnets. Good effort!!
19th March 2007

Outa city lawyer
I apologise on behalf of my profession... no one likes a city w*nker! Although i am intrigued by the topless skiing - surely you would catch your death and get a nasty case of frostbite?!
8th April 2007

Massive hair
Honestly quite impressed. Its huge. Get dreadlocks please...

Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0956s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb