Photos from Contiki - France


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Rhône-Alpes » Lyon
February 25th 2006
Published: February 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

White cliffs of DoverWhite cliffs of DoverWhite cliffs of Dover

This was taken on board the ship that took us from Dover, England to Calais, France.
BONJOUR!!
wow what an amazing way to start my tour of europe!! In total i spent 5 nights in France - 2 nights in Paris, 1 night in Lyon and 2 nights in Nice. I seen some of the most amazing sites and ate some of the most disgusting french dishes.
My highlights from my time spent in France:
1. Eating snails(ok well i didn't eat a WHOLE snail but I ate half...as I was chewing on one, it broke in half and i somehow swallowed one half and I just couldn't handle anymore and spat the rest out. I can say I've eaten snail though...Alex and I were the only one's that night that ate any snail. The others chewed and then spat but that's an achievement in itself!!)
2. Eiffel Tower
3. Surviving the drive around that crazy crazy roundabout
4. Walking pretty much all around Paris in one day
5. Seeing the Mona Lisa....(and smiling hehe sorry it had to be done!)
6. Being chased by crazy guards in a French Opera house
7. First snow fight in Europe
Well the list could go on but I'd be here for weeks and that would mean no more photos for you all to look at so I'll leave it at that...Enjoy!


Additional photos below
Photos: 58, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

TrenchesTrenches
Trenches

thats Jay in the background...i hadn't met him yet but he was part of the midnight kebab crew
Me in a trench trying not to get frostbiteMe in a trench trying not to get frostbite
Me in a trench trying not to get frostbite

I dont know how anyone could fight a war in those conditions!! I had about 5 layers on and I was still freezing my ass off!!!
Eiffel Tower by night!!Eiffel Tower by night!!
Eiffel Tower by night!!

we went up to the second level
The LouvreThe Louvre
The Louvre

Well thats me standing in front of part of the louvre...helen is on the left, then bree, dani and carol...they were cool.
Something French...Something French...
Something French...

Me again standing in front of the back of a famous monument that i can't pronounce let alone spell...its like the arc de triumphe but with statues on top..
Right sideRight side
Right side

this pic isn't as cool as the last(for obvious reasons :P) but it shows you the front of the building i was standing at the back of..
The Louvre...againThe Louvre...again
The Louvre...again

cool pic of the Louvre with the Pyramid in front...the pyramid is the entrance into the louvre
Oh look its me...again!!Oh look its me...again!!
Oh look its me...again!!

I thought the pyramid and the louvre would look better if i was in it...haha nah but you can see the entrance at the bottom of the pyramid...and...thats helen's back on the left.
French Opera HouseFrench Opera House
French Opera House

As we were walking down some random french street looking for the Moulin Rouge we looked up and HELLO there's a French Opera House!!! Nothing like our opera house but hey its French.
Run Forest RunRun Forest Run
Run Forest Run

I took this photo while running away from security guards chasing me...apparently you're not meant to take photos inside?!?! haha nah not really...cool story though...We weren't meant to take photos(REBEL!!!) but we did and this one somehow turned into a motion shot...
Yes its another illegal photoYes its another illegal photo
Yes its another illegal photo

This is what that last photo was meant to look like!
Princess in the makingPrincess in the making
Princess in the making

Thats me about to wave to my fans downstairs from my private balcony
Inside the theatreInside the theatre
Inside the theatre

"apparently" the theatre/opera rooms were only open to people who had "paid" for a tour....well we just joined on to a random group and followed them inside for a quick peak...nothing wrong with that is there?!?


Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0883s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb