Last Pieces...Finding Our Way Back


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Rhône-Alpes » Lyon
November 1st 2008
Published: April 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

St. Claude, to Oynnax...Change Trains

I feel as if I can barely meet my most basic survival needs. My Paris rail experience took the wind out of my sails. I am cold, hungry, sick and exhausted; I am seeing primarily the inside of bus and railway stations, and hotel rooms. I know there must be a way through this, but don't know how. I think I am being asked, or pushed, to dissolve and deconstruct my beliefs and attitudes, that I need to find a way to be in the world differently, because by coming here on this sojourn I have asked for and agreed to a way for it to happen. None the less, another part of me is feeling bitter about my journey so far. I didn't think I had an agenda, but this is not what I would have imagined for myself in my wildest dreams.

Bourg en Bresse, to Lyon...

We were unable to research lodging or rail before we arrived in Lyon, so had to sense after we arrived. Standing outside the station in the quiet, we tapped in to the flows around us querying for knowing, or guidance. It was cold, dark, and of course, raining so we sensed for what would meet our immediate needs. I heard go down around the corner a few blocks and on the right. We then walked about four blocks and indeed down on the right there was an Ibis Hotel. We arrived drenched, only to discover they had no room. As they had another Ibis nearby, the desk clerk arranged for a taxi to take us to our final destination. Later we would discover that it was only a few blocks away, but our driver drove us around and around, finally arriving, and of course charging us accordingly. It was not the first time and I doubt it will be the last.

Our Ibis hotel is a bed and breakfast as well, and has a very nice restaurant inside that served us really tasty dishes. I liked it here though Becky and I just as well have been in one bed together as the twins beds were squeezed so close in the tiny room. As well, personal space was at a minimum.


Just as before, I am unable to travel due to fatigue. I need to recuperate from this one short leg. We stayed 3 nights and I tried to get as much rest as possible. I am no longer able to keep the pace we are guided to and I am still struggling with finding a new way to be; having no idea which way is up, or down...





Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Leaving Saint Claude, France Train-No DriverLeaving Saint Claude, France Train-No Driver
Leaving Saint Claude, France Train-No Driver

Or, so it Appears. This is the Rear Coach Looking out the Back.
Franche Compte' RegionFranche Compte' Region
Franche Compte' Region

Country Towns by Rail
Franche Compte' RegionFranche Compte' Region
Franche Compte' Region

Countryside by Rail
Gare de Bourg en Bresse, FranceGare de Bourg en Bresse, France
Gare de Bourg en Bresse, France

Change Rail_Shocking Bathroom: Metal Pan Slopes Down to Hole in Floor. Unclean and Worst Smell Ever. I decided I could hold it.
Lyon, France_Ibis Hotel.Lyon, France_Ibis Hotel.
Lyon, France_Ibis Hotel.

Our New Home at Ibis_Restaurant, Lounge, Elevators!, Efficient Staff
Lyon, France_Ibis Hotel Lyon, France_Ibis Hotel
Lyon, France_Ibis Hotel

Nice, Cozy - Need to Like Your Roommate, Quiet Rooms


Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0219s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb