Let's Catch Up


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Gilbert
May 14th 2010
Published: May 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Muai, Hawaii Trip

Depart Wellington, KS - flight connection to Dallas - on to Phoenix,AZ

ShoppingShoppingShopping

Becky said, "I hate shopping!" about twenty times.
Hi everyone!

I am excited to share another adventure with you. An old student and friend of mine, Becky, and I are preparing for another trip. This time to Maui, Hawaii. As i rarely do anything like most people, perhaps you may be interested once again in my travels and trevails. To catch you up on things, here's what's been going on:

I went to visit family in Kansas and during that time decided to buy a small rv trailer. In the late fall i purchased one and it became home. I planned to live in it and travel as needed. Now, i was very excited about this as i have not had a home of my own for over 14 years (i think it's been that long) and though this was nothing fancy it was mine. I'd had it about 8 weeks or so and was thrilled. I left Kansas on a windy day - they are all windy - to return to the southwest. I was barely out of Kansas and an hour into Oklahoma when a semi truck hit my truck and trailer while passing me. He "totaled" both. So much for my new home and
Lettie ShoppingLettie ShoppingLettie Shopping

It's not the perfect bathing suit - but, it's the right one.
possessions.

While all that occured in the aftermath of this "meeting" was traumatic for me i, in the end, was blessed to walk away from the ordeal without serious injury. I do have some neck and back problems and am currently avoiding driving or doing anything but light physical activity. (physical therapy accepted)

Now for the silver lining. While recuperating Becky called and said "How'd you like to take a tropical vacation?" (She knows i've always had a fantasy for such a thing.) I said "Sure! If i can." We worked out some creative financial arrangements, and having received permission from my doctor as well as his blessings (he thinks that Hawaii is the PERFECT place for me to recuperate) i fly to Phoenix. Becky arrived the week before i did and now that i am here we will prepare for our departure to Maui. As well, i feel better here and am grateful to be back.

It's worth noting that after the trials and tribulations of my Europe trip, i paused and reflected upon the idea of ever taking another trip of this kind. Yet, there is something in me that loves to wander and adventure. And, this was to be purely for relaxation and recuperation, unlike my Sojourn trip which was primarily a spiritual seeking, a learning event. So, here i am again, foolhardy as ever and with a silly grin plastered on my face. We'll see if it stays this time. (-:

Right now, we are busy, busy, busy, purchasing last minute items for the hot and humid weather on Maui. And girls, you understand, the right bathing suit must be found...

Advertisement



22nd May 2010

Hi lettie
Lettie, Thanks for the update. Enjoy Hawaii! Be safe , be happy. Craig and Jill
22nd May 2010

good to see that silly grin
Let's do catch up but not until your rest and relaxation in the tropics. Enjoy it all and tune in to some of that dreamy 'slack-key guitar' that is only there. I wish you well. Love, Ouida
22nd May 2010

Laugh Out Loud
This tickles me funny bone. Have a blast, you girls. May your bathing suits support you in all the right places. (-;
1st June 2010

Friend!
Ouida, my friend! It is good to hear from you. Thanks for the e-mails you have sent me about your art going-ons. I would love to have coffee and sit and talk once again. Also, i'll look for those slack key guitar players. As well, hoping to see some great Hawaiian art and artists. I'll let you know if i do. Hope you are well my dear. Hugs to you. L.
1st June 2010

Support What?
I don't believe there's much to support... for me. However, Becky might think otherwis... (-: I'm having as much as I can. It's always an adventure of some sort for me! Thanks for the support. Love ya, Lettie

Tot: 0.179s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0891s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb