Today was...interesting.


Advertisement
Published: May 27th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Wow! That’s all I have to say about today. I’m exhausted and I feel like I’ve barely done anything. It’s about 6pm and I just arrived at my hotel in Vence, which is in between Nice and Cannes. I started my day with breakfast at my hotel in Villeneuve Lez Avignon then wandered over to the Thursday market that was near my hotel. It was lovely, and exactly what I expected. Although I didn’t expect to have a French man tell me that he loves me! I was just wandering through the market admiring everything that was for sale…from fruit, to herbs and spices, to fabric and table cloths when a man that was selling candy started to talk to me. He must have assumed I spoke English (probably because I looked like a tourist with my camera) and said a few things I actually understood. So I stopped and we chatted, he asked me where I was from and he said he knew where Minnesota was, then he handed me a sample of the candy he was selling. It was good, not like anything I’ve had before and of course I can’t remember the name! It’s chewy and pink, but not like taffy, this is more like solidified cotton candy, kind of, and comes in a “brick“. Anyway, he’s obviously done this before because I of course bought some of the candy. He said “I love you” about 3 times before I paid for the candy and was on my way. Along with the candy I also bought a small piece of pottery (I had to since I am also a “potter”) and some lavender soap. Not that I think I’ll ever use the soap for what it’s made for, but it smells so good! Once I was done at the market I went back to my hotel to check out and wait for a taxi to take me to the train station. My train was delayed, again, but what was I to do. It’s not like I really had anywhere else to be. So I sat at the station and started to read one of the books that I brought. It’s called “By the Time You Read This.” Within the first chapter it made me cry, so I put it away and decided it’s better saved for my hotel, and I’ll stick to Rick Steve’s French phrase book and dictionary. I’m finally starting to feel comfortable speaking some French, and of course I only have about 3 days left in France before I head to Italy. I boarded the train, after it being 40 minutes late, and was on my way to Nice! It was a beautiful train ride through the country and then along the Mediterranean for the last 2 and a half hours. There were miles of vineyards and the views of the sea were amazing. We traveled past St. Tropez and Cannes and then eventually to Nice. I wasn’t looking forward to maneuvering the bus schedules, but was ready for the challenge. As soon as I arrived I asked for directions to the bus station and the first word out of the woman’s mouth was “strike!” I asked “they are on strike?” And she responded yes and pointed me to the information booth. Ugh! I knew no buses meant I had to take a taxi to my hotel and I knew that was going to be expensive! Vence is about 20-30 minutes outside of Nice. Usually the buses run hourly, I think, and cost 1 Euro per person. It was just my luck today that I
VenceVenceVence

The view from the rooftop terrace
had to take a 70 Euro taxi ride to my hotel! I guess I can be thankful that I didn’t buy that Longchamp bag yesterday in Avignon! If the buses are on strike for the next few days I’m just going to stay put in Vence/ St Paul de Vence and will just have to visit Nice another time. The more I think about that the more I’m ok with it. C’est comme ca (that’s the way it is).
My hotel in Vence is lovely and this area is just beautiful! It’s a town perched up in the mountains with beautiful views of the Mediterranean and mountains, of course. My hotel is very “artsy” as is this entire city. I can’t wait to explore more of it tomorrow.
Once I was settled in my room I went out to find some dinner. I was starving because I managed to skip lunch today because I was on the train. I didn’t grab a snack before going to the train station because I thought I’d get to Nice or Vence early enough to grab a snack a couple of hours before dinner. Since that didn’t happen I thoroughly enjoyed my dinner! I
Avingon/ "Lyndee" HotelAvingon/ "Lyndee" HotelAvingon/ "Lyndee" Hotel

The breakfast room
wandered until I found a café in what’s called Place Du Grand Jardin. I ordered S. Pellegrino water and local red wine, which was amazing! I don’t normally order red wine, but all the wine I’ve had in France has been amazing! For my meal I ordered Linguini Carbonara, which was amazing, and the waitress also brought out black olive tapenade. Another thing I don’t normally like…olives. But I figured I better at least try them here, and they are amazing. Not at all like what I’ve had at home. For dessert I had profiteroles which is a small puff pastry filled with ice cream, served with whipped cream and chocolate syrup. I told you all I was going to eat my way through Europe!
Once I returned to my hotel I went up to the rooftop terrace, and what a view! Again my photos don’t do it justice at all, but it’s incredible. The mountains behind the hotel and the Mediterranean in the distance. There honestly aren’t words to fully describe how beautiful it is here. I will admit that it gets overwhelming at times…all there is to see and do. I’ve decided not to pressure myself to fit everything on my “list” in and just go where my feet take me. If I don’t make it to a museum or a typical tourist spot, that’s ok, I’ve been able to see a part of the city I wouldn’t have seen otherwise.
Now I’m just relaxing in my hotel and deciding what to do tomorrow. My day will depend on whether or not the buses are still on strike. I don’t think the tour buses are on strike though, so I might try to catch one of those through Nice or Cannes, or both, tomorrow.
Enjoy your Friday before the long weekend!



Additional photos below
Photos: 51, Displayed: 26


Advertisement

:):)
:)

This little cherub was everywhere!


27th May 2010

I keep thinking about my trip last summer. You're making me miss it.
28th May 2010

Great Photos - Great Stories
I had heard that the French go on strike often! What a cab ride. I can understand how hard it is to not partake in the many stunning wines - at almost every meal. Your stories are so vivid - you are a wonderful writer as well as photographer. It appears your trip is more enchanting than you even imagined. Watch out for the "Frenchmen!"
28th May 2010

Farmer's Mkt.
What ? No picture of the man who loves you ? I Love how you are going with the flow, despite some obstacles. (Train delays, Bus strike). I think that is 1/2 the fun. Not having a real plan. This way you get to see things you may normally overlook. Glad you are taking it all in my friend. ;-)
9th June 2010

Nice story...
Hope you eventually made it to Nice -- regardless of the insane cab prices and constantly striking workers. Vence is lovely, though. And you took some beautiful pictures.

Tot: 0.266s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0702s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb