I'm falling in love...with France!


Advertisement
Published: May 26th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Bonsoir! (Good evening)
After a 3 hours delay on the train yesterday I finally made it to Avignon, then with a 15 minute taxi ride I arrived at my hotel in Villeneuve Lez Avignon, a beautiful town just across the Rhone River from Avignon...the heart of Provence! I like to call my hotel "The Lyndee Hotel" because it looks like a hotel my Mom would have decorated, and LOVED! There are little reminders of her everywhere and I love it! I smile every time a thought of her pops into my head. So many people said this would be such a healing experience for me, and they were so right! Once I arrived at my hotel I dropped off my luggage and went out to wander the little town. There are many narrow, brick paved streets lined with restaurants and little boutiques. I eventually stumbled upon what seemed like the "town square" with a few great restaurants and bars. I stopped at a restaurant called L'Aubergine...it was amazing! I took photos of my food (of course) but I used my phone and for some reason I can't connect to the WiFi on it here at the hotel, so those will be posted tomorrow. I had a glass of wine, scallops wrapped in bacon and for dessert I had their triple chocolate, which was chocolate mouse, ice cream, and a petit chocolate cake. To follow French tradition, it seems, I also had a cafe au lait (coffee with lots of milk). I splurged on that meal, but it was so worth it! After dinner I found my way back to my hotel and called it a night. I woke up bright and early this morning because I only had today to see Avignon and Villeneuve Lez Avignon. I had breakfast at my hotel, which consisted of croissants, both regular and chocolate filled, jam, boiled eggs, yogurt, orange juice, coffee, tea, and granola. You'll all laugh at this, especially those who know I eat hard boiled egg whites every morning for breakfast...I thought they were already cooked, oh no...I was wrong. I went to crack it open and before I knew it there was liquid egg white all over my plate! So that's what the boiling water was for?! It was early, and I obviously hadn't had my coffee yet! Lesson learned, always ask if the eggs are cooked! At least my breakfast was served in a beautiful little courtyard of the hotel, so the surrounding made up for my little egg mishap. I enjoyed listening to the birds chirp and watching the other guests come and go from breakfast. I was then off to Avignon. I walked, which I don't think many people do. The sidewalks are narrow, and the cars drive fast! I didn't want to sit inside a bus and miss seeing things, so I didn't mind the 30-45 minute walk through town and across the river. The view of the Rhone Valley is amazing. I only wish I would have planned more time to visit the surrounding areas...maybe next time. Once I crossed the river I made my way through the city walls and just wandered. Like Villeneuve Lez Avignon there are many narrow, brick paved streets filled with restaurants and shops. There aren't just little boutiques, there are high end stores like Hermes and Longchamp Paris, but then there's also Sephora, and H&M. I debated getting a Longchamp bag, but decided not to, I’ll save the big spending for Rome! Instead I bought a painting from a local artist, and a lavender cloth for my kitchen, or bathroom. I eventually made my way to the Palais des Papes (Popes Palace) and went for self guided audio tour. The exterior and interior is beautiful, and the history in very interesting. I won't bore you all with those details, but you can Google it if you want. Once I was done with the tour I continued to wander for a while and just enjoyed everything there was to see. From locals relaxing in the parks, children playing, to street musicians playing the accordion and bass. I recorded a little audio of the accordion and bass, but I don't think I can post that on here...it's so French, I love it! I eventually found some lunch...the usual jambon-emmental (ham, cheese, lettuce, and tomato baguette) and a chocolate éclair (yes, again!). I love the leisure of just grabbing something and finding a shady spot in a park to eat lunch instead of sitting at a table at a restaurant, i'll save that for dinners. At this point I wanted to make my way back to my hotel to rest a while. It was another beautiful, and hot, day in France, so the heat was draining my energy. I made it across the river and decided to sit on the grass on the side of the river for a while and just relax, enjoy the breeze, and watch the riverboats go by. I eventually made it back to my hotel to rest a while before heading out to find dinner around 7:30 tonight. I went back to L’Aubergine, only because it was so close, and my meal last night was so good! Tonight I had red wine (I think I consumed almost an entire bottle!), brikabrack which is cured ham, goats cheese, and cherry tomatoes all wrapped in filo dough on a bed of mixed greens. It was delicious! Of course I had dessert…crème brulee and a café au lait. I sat at the restaurant for close to 3 hours. I love how leisurely people in France eat! Even if they are just eating McDonald’s they take it to go and find a park to sit and eat and chat with each other. I could get used to this life!
I eventually made it back here to my hotel and am just about to go to sleep. I have a few hours in the morning before I catch the train to Nice/ St Paul de Vence. I’ve heard there’s a Thursday morning market just down the street so I think I’ll check that out after breakfast at my hotel. I hope you are all enjoying reading my blog just as much as I’m enjoying writing it!







Additional photos below
Photos: 51, Displayed: 26


Advertisement



26th May 2010

Oui indeed!
I'm thoroughly enjoying it! Thank you for your detail!
26th May 2010

Rich is so correct
You are bringing back some wonderful memories for me through your pictures and words-thanks and the memories you are making for yourself will last you a lifetime and beyond. Keep up the good work with the pictures of the flowers and desserts- I love them. Safe travels.
26th May 2010

Is #291 the painting you bought? So cute and so something your mom would do. Also after your explanation of the hotel I was ready for photos so I'm glad you posted a few. I agree - very Lyndee! I'm glad other than the train snafu things have been going well. I'm really enjoying living vicariously through you!
26th May 2010

Awesome
Hey Christina- I'm so glad it's everything you wanted and more! Keep posting. We love it :)
27th May 2010

MISS YOU
I have enjoyed reading your blog posts so far - keep them coming - i feel like i am on the trip with you. But i can say that i do miss you at work. But Don't hurry back - but don't stay there either! :-) looking forward to the next blog entry. Have a great night!!
27th May 2010

Stunning!
Christina ~ you have quite the eye for photography and I am in awe of your photo's. You capture detail, and the atmosphere in each picture ! LOVE reading your blogs and I cant wait to log in each day! I am so glad you are enjoying yourself.
27th May 2010

You are awesome
I love getting your entries here at work. It seriously brightens my days! I love your descriptions of the little things you encounter that will be big memories of your wonderful trip!
27th May 2010

Breathtaking!
I'm enjoying so much reading your blog. I can't wait to see what you've done next. Sounds FABULOUS
29th May 2010

Salutations
Heureux de savoir que tu as passé un excellent séjour en France. Ton article est trés bien, continue!

Tot: 0.206s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0424s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb