A second look at Toulon


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur » Toulon
June 16th 2022
Published: June 16th 2022
Edit Blog Post

A beach town A beach town A beach town

I have tried to take several photos, but I think early morning would be the best light
I was tired when I arrived yesterday and I could not find the shop to store my suitcase. Travel tip: do not use website Nannybag because you have to pay for the days ahead of time, and in this case in Toulon, the shop was several streets away from the train station where apparently no one knew the street or shop. There is a heat wave in France and that’s the wrong time to be searching the streets of Toulon for an obscure site. There is a sign in front of the station pointing to a tourist office, but I never found it, even today when I had more time and less stress. Yesterday I gave up and took a taxi to my destination. Travel tip: if the train station is too small to have its own ‘left luggage’ company, spend the money on a taxi and take all of your bags.

Compared with Nice, Toulon is less beautiful and not so tourist friendly. My first experience was not pleasant due to several circumstances, and it did not help to see worn out buildings and too many adults vaping or begging on the streets. But that can happen near any
Best streets head to the beachBest streets head to the beachBest streets head to the beach

I am staying here in St Louis district, so much nicer than city centre
station in a warm climate.

When I got to the beach area of the town, all was forgiven. Unlike the beach in Nice’s downtown area, Toulon’s beaches are meant to be enjoyed by everyone from 2 to 92. In this area the neighborhood is relaxed and focused on the beach and water views…a happy place.

Today was a fresh start and it was easy getting the bus to downtown. I had time to walk along the main boulevard and have an excellent lunch. France is living up to its reputation of great food. I took some token pictures of stately buildings. The city gardens were nice. Then I took bus back and spent the rest of the day totally enjoying this place.


Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

I swam here this afternoon I swam here this afternoon
I swam here this afternoon

When it was less busy. Near the hotel, this is where locals go to avoid the crowds.
View from my hotel window.View from my hotel window.
View from my hotel window.

Holiday time is kicking in.
Beaches Beaches
Beaches

Many happy people here
Hotel courtyard Hotel courtyard
Hotel courtyard

A lovely place to sit
Beaches will be busy till dark Beaches will be busy till dark
Beaches will be busy till dark

Lots of happy children play in water, and they avoid their parents when dusk arrives and it’s time to pack up.
Beaches are highlight of Toulon Beaches are highlight of Toulon
Beaches are highlight of Toulon

They fit in boating lanes too.
Ferry heading to CorsicaFerry heading to Corsica
Ferry heading to Corsica

Toulon is a port city
Train Station Train Station
Train Station

Seems so much nicer today when I returned from beach area
Taken from busTaken from bus
Taken from bus

Heading back to town to get train ticket to Geneva tomorrow. Stately buildings.
Main square Main square
Main square

Fenced off so they could set up for music concert. I left just in time after lunch because they began testing the microphones (loudly)
Museum Museum
Museum

Closed today
City gardens City gardens
City gardens

So many huge bushes a colour.
Nice city gardens Nice city gardens
Nice city gardens

They had water features and various climate zone plants. A nice place to visit.
Good luck finding the tourist office Good luck finding the tourist office
Good luck finding the tourist office

This sign is three streets away from first one at station. They should copy Nice and put it on front steps of train station.
Amazing lunch today Amazing lunch today
Amazing lunch today

A work of art, who knew vegetables could be so good


Tot: 0.468s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 14; qc: 66; dbt: 0.2099s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb