Nice, France and on to Marseille


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur » Nice
September 6th 2009
Published: September 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Nice, France

I slept a little bit later today trying to catch up, had breakfast, and decided to catch the bus up the hill in town to the Matisse Museum. During this month there was also a Rodin exhibition traveling through and on at the museum. I was really glad I got to see these sculptures by Rodin. Later in my travels, I will see the Rodin Museum in Paris. The museum is on a hilltop amidst ruins from the ancient Roman city Cemenelum. The museum is a three or four story red building set in an olive grove that is a popular place for people and their dogs on Sunday morning. The museum was free and it was worth the 10 minute bus ride and short walk. I then took the bus back down into town and bought some food to make a picnic lunch. After eating, I checked out and made my way up to the SNCF station (train station) to purchase a train ticket to Marseille.

Marseille, France

Arrival into Marseille from Nice places you in the very modern Saint Charles Train Station (Gare St. Charles). I got off the train and started looking up how to find my way in this big city and how to find my landlady's house where I will live for the month. :-)



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0188s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb