The French Riviera (via train) and Nice, France


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur » Nice
September 5th 2009
Published: September 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Saturday, September 5, 2009

I woke up as the train began slowing down around 3 a.m. and then fell asleep again. At one point in the night, with the rocking of the train, my head began to hit the side of the train in a rhythmic rocking motion. I am so glad I had my little sleep comfort inflatable camping/travel pillow. With this standing between my head and the side of the train, I was able to get a really great night’s sleep. I woke up as the train began to slow and allow passengers to board and get off at all the towns along the French Riviera - Toulon, Cannes, Antibes , and then finally Nice. I found a place to stay and immediately when to the store (Monoprix) to purchase sun block for the beach. I made it to the beach and had lunch beachside and then rested a little while in a beach chair. I tried to swim but the water (although inviting and crystal clear blue) was terribly cold. I couldn’t get in further than waist-high and the waves were crashing cold water on my back. I went back to my beach lounge chair to read
CannesCannesCannes

We stopped here briefly to let persons on and off. No film festival though. It was held in May. :-)
my novel and rest a little bit. I also walked around the corniche (cliffside road) and watched a few kids diving from high up on the rocks into the blue-green water. After a little while, I decided to take the elevator up to the castle on the hill here in Nice. From here there are spectacular views of the port, old Nice, the newer part of Nice and the miles long stretch of beaches. I walked down from the castle hill right into Old Nice. This is an old part of town that for the most part is pedestrian traffic only with shops, cafes, ice cream stores, crepe stands, and lots of souvenir shops. This was really a nice little area to explore.



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Promenade des AnglaisPromenade des Anglais
Promenade des Anglais

Looking west on the Promenade des Anglais (Walkway of the English). This stretches for about 4 miles gently curving with the beach and the Baie de Anges (Bay of Angles).
La PlageLa Plage
La Plage

The beach on the Med at last. :-) The sand was quite coarse as you can see. :-)


Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1077s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb