Over the hump


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur » Nice
March 15th 2007
Published: March 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Since I last wrote I have survived quite a bit, gone through highs and lows that filled mewithpure excitement and made me almost want throw in the towel. In Barcalona I excperienced some of the Greatest architecture that I have ever seen, I do have pictures which i will try and put up, but my technologically un savie self Cant figure out how to upload themusing the forign computer prompts, so you are just going tohave to wait. The greatest sight in barcalona was by far the Santan Familia (probably not spelled right) designed by a guy named Gaudie, whostarted the temple way backin the 1880s, and never saw his workcompleated as he was squiched by a trollie on his way to inspect the site one day. Now in 2007 the temple is stillnot done, but they still let turists in amongst all of the current construction. The temple apears tobe a living thing, as if growing upout of the city like a well nurished plant, flurishinng in the hot mediternina sun. In the basement is a museum devoted to Gaudie with a particualr exibit offering a brief look into the mind of a man who must have been a little bit crazey, for no sane man could have cocived of such a structure. It shows where he drew his insperation from, trees, plants, shells, basically anything that was an organic structure, which explains perfectly the building seems tobe alive. I will definalty be comming back to this city when construction is compleat!
amoung the other sights to see in barcalona were the Picasso museum, which showed a compleat history of the painters work, right from the beginning all the way through to his most famous blue period, as well as his pottery and doodels he did in magaziens that would land any highschool kid a trip to the principals office. I only expirenced a brief amout of the barcalona night life, and after paying 6 euros for a beer and 10 euros for a glass of whisky, figured that the bars here cant be that different from the ones back home and instead chose to drink cans of beer that were sold for one euro by dudes on the street La rambals while doing my best to avoid the roaming gangs of prostitue pickpockest that would mob you trying to sell their goods and take your wallet all at the same time. I did have to drag an intoxicated Dan, a fellow canadian who became my "shadow," away from one who had attempted to engage him in a philosophical discussion about the true nature of love.
From Barcalona my shadow and I traveled on down to Montpellie, a little University town in france where I got a good Idea of how the sterotype of the snobby french, and which began my humpportion of the trip, where I became incressingly frustrated with everything, got food poiseing causing me to trow up out of both ends on the train to the next destiantion of Marselles. When I got ther however things began to look up when i saw the coast, with the towering cliffs and the cahtu dif in out on an island off the coast. At the hostle there I met up with 2 more canadians and an australian, whom i am currently traveling with, and togeather we walked around the old city and toured the chatu dif. For a city that is renowned for crime I found very little, the least of any city, except for a gypsy woman who shoved a baby in my face saying "look at my baby, give me money." But since both she and the baby looked fine,and were well dressed I didnt give he a dime.
Now I am in Nice with matt, The australian where We will spend a day on the beach and wandering around the city, and the next touring a midevil city nearby.
I am happy that the hump part of my trip is over,and even happier that, as I learned throuh talking to another wise and seasoned traveler, It was something that was inevitable, that every traveler must get to and struggle through.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0487s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb