Macks Log Stardate 00:09 13/03/2013 somewhere in Europe (you better get this reference)...


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur » Avignon
March 12th 2013
Published: March 12th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Hey everyone!

Time for another instillation of this blog.

This past week was a blast. If I remember correctly, last I wrote was on my main tench day just after my weekend in Biscarrosse. What fun that was.

I must apologize for the last post as I posted it before saving my final changes, so it had some spelling errors. I promise you this post will have no speling errors whatsoever.



So alright. Where to begin. Tuesday I had my first outing if this voyage. I took my rail pass over to Gare St John (Bordeaux train station) and had it activated. Then I hoped on one of the regional trains heading to Bergerac. For those of you that are familiar with the story of Cyrano de Bergerac, this is indeed that Bergerac. This is a book I studied in school, so getting to see the actual village was pretty neat. It is however I quiet little town this time of the year. In fact I only counted three others wondering around the town hoping to find the statue of a man with an unfortunately large nose.

On my train ride home at evening, I ran into a lovely couple from Australia that are currently living in Paris. (side note, they had with them I dog that just happened to be named Daisy!)

Anyways, in talking to them I was enlightened of a town even closer to Bordeaux called Saint Emillion. Bordeaux region is very well known for its wine, and the same goes for this little village just 35 minutes by train from downtown Bordeaux. Needless to say, wednesday I took the train to St Emillion. Immediately I knew I was in wine country, as in every direction as far as the eye can see where rolling fields which were indeed vineyards. (over 850 vineyards in the saint Emillion region!)

I was fortunate enough to get a personal tour of the caves that they store the wine (literally underneath the town). Some of these caves dated back to the second century, before they were used for wine some where even underground chapels!)

Then I proceeded to get an education in wine and it's production, as well with a wine tasting. Great day and a must see if you are planning a trip to France. (did I mention that I didn't even spend one euro that day!?)

Thursday I got out for a run in the beautiful weather, and wondered through a gypsy market, which was super cool. However there was nothing I needed to buy, but I have however solved the mystery was to where all the missed placed chargers for our electronics go. Piles upon piles of chargers exist in this open air market. Crazy.



Then this weekend I again went to Biscarrosse with my friends I am staying with. We then drove down to Hossigor for a day, a small very posh town about 50km from the Spanish border. Really cool to see a new part of the country, as well as meet and speak to all sorts of new people!

Sunday I had a laugh to myself as we were making a Canadian style brunch. Of all things to be doing in France. I did however learn, the French Toast is not just called Toast here, as I had sarcastically hoped. It is called Pain Perdue, or Lost Bread. Essentially something to do with stale bread. And to think in North America it's a specialty. Figures.



I apologize for the lack of pictures in this post. I am writing it on my iPad as I take a train to the other side of the country. Today marks the start of my journey in backpack. Spent all yesterday carefully cramming and stuffing things in my bag.

Train ride so far has been wonderful. Looking out the window I see small towns wizzing by with the feet of the Pyrenees off in the distance. My destination has many was once home to the French popes in the 1300's. Pretty cool!

Then from there all I'll say is that it's going to be a Nice weekend.



Alright, there is a movie on this iPad which I gotta get watched, as well as a 1$ dark chocolate bar in front of me that could use some attention.

Thanks again for reading! I don't yet know where I will be next week when I write the blog, so make sure to check back to figure out where I end up!



All the best,

Mack



The above was written on the train, but not until now comfortably horizontal in my hostel bed am I able to send this. All is well and it's looking to be a great adventure so far!

Advertisement



13th March 2013

good on ya son keep saving $$$
Its not all that easy but I've calculated if you drink 26 glasses of wine you should be able to save enough to buy a train ticket to Leon ! Your only a drunken weekend or two away from a new camera bag !

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.041s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb