One Week Down


Advertisement
Published: June 20th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hey Everyone!

Sorry that I have not written anything in a while, but I was getting used to the city and my university program this passed week, and boy did it take some getting used to! Now I am settled in pretty well and am feeling close to home even if I am 5,000 miles away from Omaha.
Classes are interesting even if they are a bit challenging (Contemporary French history and The Representation of Trials in French Literature). My professors are great and very helpful and eager to lend a hand when it comes to odd questions....I guess they are used to it.
We had our first excursion to Baux-de-Provence yesterday. It's a little provencal town that sits atop a hill with a beautiful lookout over olive groves, vineyards and lavendar fields from a ruins of a medieval castle. Pure eye candy for the traveler at heart.
The lady with whom I am staying is wonderful, a very animated French woman with excellent cooking skills. I am addicted to quiche lorraine (even if we do offer it at Delice something about it here makes it special) and different cheeses after my meal. My new favorite is Cantal, and I figured out early on that I am not a fan of Roquefort....way too strong! Red wine with dinner is also a nice perk, but I found out the first two nites that I am prone to nightmares if we eat past 8 o'clock....seem to be learning a lot about my gastronomic likes and dislikes in France.
Hope this update finds you all well. Thinking of you all the time!!

Jeanette
P.S. There are some more pics from this past week to check out!
P.S.S. Andy and the boys should be in Croatia today...can't deny that I am jealous that they are on the beach cooling off and I am in the thick of a heat wave in Provence!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1018s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb