Sur le Pont d'Avignon


Advertisement
Published: June 12th 2005
Edit Blog Post

What a crazy and jam packed weekend that I have had so far!! On Thursday, my last night in Madrid, I went out with Dulce, Andy and Sean to La Latina (a quarter in Madrid much like its equivalent in Paris...full of young people and cafes). Dulce recommended some places for the boys to hang out for their last few days in Madrid. I left the boys at their metro stop and went with Dulce to meet her boyfriend Carlos at another locale. We didn't stay out too late because we had to wake up early. I took the bus at 9 am to Barcelona and had one last cafe con leche with Dulce at the station.
I didn't arrive in Barcelona until around 5 because of traffic. My other friend Saioa met me at the station. It was so good to see her!! She was my flatmate last year in Perguia and we found each other running to hug each other at the station. We left my backpack at the station and walked around the city all night until 3:30am when I had to take the bus to Girona airport for Paris. Barcelona is littered with Gaudi architecture and so I got to see it all, if only at nite. We strolled down the marina and had "arozza negra"-black paella (i think that's how you spell it) for dinner...the waiter gave us some digestive on the house after dinner, but one smell and tiny sip of it was enough to make me pass out!!
So after not a lot of sleep I made it back to Paris in one piece and took the TGV to Avignon where I am writing you this update. My host (Madame Turries) met me with a smile at the station. She made me "quiche provencal" and "salade aux tomates" for dinner and i took a shower and slept for 12 hours. Avignon is beautiful! A typical Provencal ville with a medieval wall surrounding the city. Am in love already....
Tomorrow I have Orientation at 9 o'clock and have activities at the university running until late in the afternoon. Am looking forward to meeting some new people and discovering the city together. I have posted some new pictures from Amsterdam, Brussels, Madrid and Barcelona....sorry for some if you can't find them...it takes a bit of searching on the site....it's new to me too!

A tout a l'heure!
Jeanette

Advertisement



Tot: 0.155s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0872s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb