Marchutz Misadventures


Advertisement
Published: February 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well the discussion thing I went to yesterday was quite interesting. It was about this man-Leo Marchutz- who was an artist and did a lot of work with the IAU. I have actually decided that yesterday was a Bad Day. However, I didn't realize it until last night, so I don't know if that counts. But I digress...

So at 17h30 last night Arlette (my host mom) and Collette (her sister) and I walked down to the Musee Granet for this meeting thing. First off we got lost and had to ask people how to get there. But then it turned out I knew where it was all along.

So we go into this still under-contruction building and are directed downstairs to the room where everything is happening. I guess they sent out too many invitations or didn't expect so many people to come, because the place was packed and there was no where to sit. So I and many others had to stand in the back. Strike one for me. About 5 minutes into the presentation (which BTW consisted of a bunch of old white guys sitting up at a table and reading dissertations-in French) Arlette and Collette leave and say they'll be back. So I'm like "Ok." and settle into endure this long insufferable meeting. Strike two.

I was in the front of the standees and so spent the next hour and a half people-watching. This one guy (or woman) had the most ridiculous hair. I wish I'd had my camera. They had white hair, but had dyed it orange at some point and was then growing it out. So there's this white circle in the middle of their head of non-dyed hair, then brillant orange because it stuck so well to the white. And it wasn't even evenly distributed! I mean this was bad hair! But I digress again...

So anyway, I people-watch and practiced my parade rest stance and eventually closed my eyes and pretended to be really concentrating on the speeches. I tried to channel Dad. But finally it was over. I looked around behind me and what do ya know- Arlette and Collette weren't there! I had been ditched! Strike three and I'm put out.

So I looked through the little exhibit of Leo Marchutz's drawings and then get some OJ and a piece of bread at the reception. They had these little square things that I expected to be cookies, but actually tasted like crap. Kinda of cheesy or something. Really disappointing. But I got Andres (a kid from IAU) to eat one because I told him it was good. (I'm so evil.) The look on his face was priceless. But he actually ate the rest of it!

So I finally left and hotfooted it back to the apartment to make some food. Arlette wasn't back and Junior then cooked a steak for me and heated up some spinach. It was good, but then I had to try and talk to him for 20 minutes while he watched me eat. Argh! He told me not to tell his mom that I had eaten at home and even gave me a bag so I could put the remains of my banana in it and then take it out with me this morning so she wouldn't see it in the trash. It didn't work, but it was pretty funny to try and outwit Arlette.

Oh and it turns out that they had never gone back to the discussion thing! Arlette and Collette went to a disco or cafe or something. So now I feel like quite the shmuck.

Advertisement



7th February 2006

Who's the Shmuck!
I love reading your accounts . . . but sometimes they scare me, like this one. what the h-e-double hockey sticks is Arlette doing leaving you on your own without telling you she wouldn't be back! ~ Mom Sarah, why can't you eat at the apartment? Why is nutrition a secret? Do we need to send you care packages? Sorry I did not pick up your signal. I will concentrate harder the next time. I assume the dissertations were in French. That is a good way to learn the lingo. What about the French hobby shops? Mom and I are glad you are having fun in the Fifth Republic! ~ Dad
7th February 2006

Never mind us
OK, warpgirl - Please don't change the way you write these just 'cause you know we're reading them. Our comments and questions are just free association parental angst. Your headings/titles are very clever - you must get that from Dad. TTFN

Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0767s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb