Goats, Saumur, and birthday in Cognac


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Poitou-Charentes » Cognac
April 13th 2010
Published: April 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Eiffel TowerEiffel TowerEiffel Tower

I couldn't let Jasper down. Honestly, if she asks you to do something with her sweet voice and big eyes, I dare Rush Limbaugh to deny her.
All right, so my last entry I believe I left off giving a brief description of the farm, but I have pictures this time. It was quite a simplistic old farmhouse, but it was so simple and peaceful, even Anne Coulter could become a more pleasant person if she stayed there. After working long hours of pulling up weeds, I would grab a glass of vin rouge and watch the sun set behind a curtain of weeping willow branches. Then we would eat a large delicious meal that Joyce cooked (we ate very late) and drag ourselves to bed, only to do it again the next day. I loved doing everything 'the old fashioned way' even down to feeding the goats and hanging the laundry on the clothes line (I take great pleasure in the simplest of things). It was quite wonderful and I enjoyed having sort of a 'second family' for comfort reasons. In fact the family that was staying on the farm (friends of Joyce's) had two girls who were 7 and 10 which is the same ages as my future niece and nephew (My brother's fiance's kids, (Gavin and Jasper) whom I spend a lot of time with
campingcampingcamping

My camp site in La Fleche
in Idaho). That reminds me; before I left, Jasper asked me with her puppy dog eyes to take a picture of the Eiffel Tower, to which I sorrowfully answered that I didn't think I was going to get the chance to see it. Ah, but while I was sprinting from one train station to another in Paris, I did get the chance to see the tip, so I took a picture just for you Jasper. 😉

On Saturday, we drove to the nearest large city called Saumur (it isn't too large) and I got to visit a sparkling wine house called Ackerman and explore their wine caves (Apparently it is a pretty big name here, but I had never heard of it). Aside from the wine caves, I also got to see Troglodyte houses! The soil here makes it possible to carve caves into cliffs, which is how a lot of the wineries made their caves, and many people even have houses right inside of a cliff (Someday, I will have a cliff house, and it will be amazing!). Then we also visited Le Chateau de Saumur which was built in the 11th century! The history in Europe is
sunrisesunrisesunrise

the river running through La Fleche
simply mind-boggling.

I left Fougere on Monday morning planning to go somewhere between there and Cognac, but the trains are on strike so there are not as many time options. Having no clue where to go, I just chose the random city of Poitiers because it was leaving earlier than other trains. However, as soon as I got to Poitiers, I decided to just go onto cognac because I figured there would be better chances of finding a camping spot there. Fortunately, I was correct and found a lovely park to camp in. It is quite exhilarating to have no plans whatsoever and truly live in the moment. Even though I have certain things planned out in the trip, everything I do is pretty much unplanned and spontaneous which I love. Some people might call this crazy, stupid, or irresponsible (my mom and grandma namely) Others might simply call it badass (Chuck Norris namely). I on the other hand prefer to use the word adventurous. My thoughtful definition of adventure is: to venture into the unknown (my simple definition is: Paul Hinscbherger's middle name); and when you venture into the unknown, you venture into better knowing yourself (I have a lot of time to think about this crap while I'm walking long lengths). Anyways, I feel like if I can inspire someone to venture out of their comfort zone and thus know themselves better, then I feel like I have accomplished something, maybe even made the world a better place.



So, my 25th birthday started relatively uneventful: just freezing cold and sleep deprived, but at least I didn't spend any money on a hotel, which means I can spend more on dinner tonight. 😉 I'm now at my couchsurfing destination which is a very nice guy named Richard. Richard works for Camus, the 5th biggest producer of Cognac (friends in high places!) and he is originally from Colorado. I travelled around Cognac this morning, and Richard is taking me out to dinner for my birthday tonight. However, I will be doing more sightseeing in Cognac and will post more pictures later. Cognac is a really cool little city with a lot of history and culture and Brandy. I love being in these places that I have merely read about before now. I dig it.

I want to part with some words of wisdom from Thomas
Fougere churchFougere churchFougere church

Tiny town, chuch built in 1068 or something crazy like that.
Jefferson (his birthday is today as well):
"There exists a false aristocracy based on family name, property, and inherited wealth. But there likewise exists a true aristocracy based on intelligence, talent, and virtue". I don't think that quote has anything to do with anything I have just been writing, but I do find it intriguing that two brilliant, talented, and virtuous people were born on the same day. hehe.

I wish I could have a birthday drink with all of you, but then I would be really drunk, so I'll just have a little Cognac instead.
Farewell.
paul.

P.S. Thank you to all who have commented on my blogs and given me support. It means a lot to me.




Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

sunset postsunset post
sunset post

this is the scene I described in the blog, minus the sunset.
different angledifferent angle
different angle

the driveway of the farm
farmfarm
farm

the farm from the front of the driveway
The crewThe crew
The crew

Joyce, my host is on the right, her best friend in the middle and her family.
bottle wallbottle wall
bottle wall

this was not a practical thing in Ackerman, but more for aesthetics,
AckermanAckerman
Ackerman

front of Ackerman, built right into the hill
Chateau de SaumurChateau de Saumur
Chateau de Saumur

I think someone said that they modeled the the Sleeping beauty castle after Chateau de Saumur. But that could have been one of the other really cool castles. I can't remember.
MattMatt
Matt

Matt was sort of Joyce's nephew who I worked with on the farm. Really cool guy.
HunkHunk
Hunk

I don't think that needs any description.
La Loire RiverLa Loire River
La Loire River

I love the bridges here!
Saumur VineyardsSaumur Vineyards
Saumur Vineyards

When you leave a town, it has these signs. I like to note all the little differences in culture.
HennesyHennesy
Hennesy

The Hennesy house in Cognac
CognacCognac
Cognac

the city center
some cool churchsome cool church
some cool church

I just randomly stumbled across this church. They're fantastic.
same church as abovesame church as above
same church as above

the outside of this church with a sweet stained glass circle thingy on the front. (That's the technical term)
Le CellierLe Cellier
Le Cellier

My family's restaurant is called the Cellar, so I had to take a picture. I didn't go in because Richard said it had sub-par food. A far stretch from The Cellar in Idaho!


13th April 2010

Happy Birthday! Saweeeet!
I forgot you're an April Baby! Happiest of birthdays friend. And how cool to be dining with a fellow connoisseur of wine and food. Wonderful. Go Rich baby go! Let's just hope this couch surfing thing works and that after the meal of your life, Richard doesn't do creepy things to you in the middle of the night... I really do hope it's legit because it does give me anxiety thinking about sleeping on the couch of a stranger. Kudos! Okay, again, happy birthday Paul! Love the blog (Nick and Suze's pictures fail in comparison to the actual blog- love you guys if you read that... whoops...).
13th April 2010

Happy Birthday!!
Great Blog Paul. And Happy Birthday!! We will have a toast to you this evening at The Cellar, so do the same wherever you are at. Love, Dad
13th April 2010

HAPPY BIRTHDAY
Paul, I love getting your blogs! I am so happy for you and this opportunity...just one more reason to admire you even more than I already do :) I hope thus far it is all you could have hoped for and more! I just wanted to write and wish you a very HAPPY BIRTHDAY!! How lucky to celebrate your big day in Europe!! Miss and love you! Sam :)
13th April 2010

Happy B-Day
Paul, thank you for sharing your trip and experiences with us, (Carla and I) we are enjoying it greatly. I think there is the wandering soul in most of us that wish we had the opportunity and/or guts to do what you are doing. I am jealous and envious of the sights and experiences you are having. Know that when Carla and I read your blog it clears our mind and allows us to enjoy the moment in time you have talked about and that takes us out of our daily routine. That is priceless and much appreciated. Enjoy the now and drink in the times (with the wine) you are in because very soon you will wonder where all the time went and wish you had experienced more! Just be careful and be safe. John p.s., the one photo that has the caption "Hunk" confused me because I could not see any type of hunk anywhere? :) All photos share your view and are fantastic, thanks for that. It helps complete the mental picture of your travels and the region. God Bless!
13th April 2010

Reality Check
Getting a little big headed on this trip are we? Talented? Brillaint? Hunk? C'mon Paul... lets not get ahead of ourselves. Haha Looks great man. Envious is putting it lightly.
14th April 2010

Really??
Seriously Paul, it sounds and looks like you're having the best time. I can say I'm jealous, but that word doesn't even describe it. I'm just so happy you're enjoying yourself and taking in all that life has to offer. We all miss you!! And of course, Happy Birthday!
15th April 2010

I need to buy a ticket and join you, Paul
...what a fantastic experience you are having!!! I cannot help but think that you are living my dream (except for the camping). Someday in the not too distant future, Jeannie and I will be spending a few months in Europe...much of it in Italy, of course. In the meantime your blog and others will have to suffice to feed my wanderlust. the blog is great...keep them coming...

Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 13; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0847s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb