a weekend of bizarre French events...


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Pays-de-la-Loire
February 11th 2007
Published: February 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

MeMeMe

at the Color Cafe
Again, I'm updating this a week late, but oh well.

Wednesday I went into town to meet Jeffrey and Sylvia and Xavier who is hopefully going to the UA next year to talk about campus and such. He is very nice and very excited about the UA, but Sylvia had already warned him before I got there not to bring the UT sweater he was sporting.

On the way out I noticed a poster for a "Contry Punk" band from Paris (their spelling error not mine) and I was just TOO curious what that would sound like. So Thursday night I talked Fiona, Alix, Sarah and Nicky into checking it out with me.

We got there just before the time it was scheduled to start and for about an hour we were practically the only ones at the bar. A few little groups tickled in and then just as the band started to get on stage, an hour later (lesson learned on our part) about 20 high school age kids poured in.

The band was... intersting. The music was actually good- like a sped up country song with a more punk style drumming but the lead singer
Me and AlixMe and AlixMe and Alix

at the Contry Punk concert
just kind of yelled the lyrics which were all in English so we cut out early and walked back after they finished the first set.

http://profile.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=user.viewprofile&friendID=110721791

if you're intersted though.

Took a lazy day Friday and then Saturday went over to the Ilkay for lunch. The people there are so nice and I tried a new Turkish dish which was delicious but I think next time I'll have to go back to my spicy Urfa (the only truly spicy dish I've found in France).

Then Saturday evening Sarah, Alix and I went into town for something Alix had seen advertised. He didn't know what it was but the poster said "Concerts, radio, discussions..." and such so he decided it sounded like something that needed to be checked out.

We went to the Color Cafe for a drink first which is a cute little bar in the old town since the bus schedule on Saturdays sucks and we either had to go early or late.

Well, the event was... intersting. It was like an anniversary party for a local community radio or such and so they had like discussions about radio and its place and stuff. It was good French practice to listen to. Then they had an accordian player and singer, pop rockish band, and really really bad DJ play in between discussions. The first two sets of musicians were pretty good but the music was spaced by a lot of talking.

So we came back and watched some Black Books with cast commentary which is always a good time. Not many photos this time, as I didn't take my camera. But here are a few I got off Nicky and Alix.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 64; dbt: 0.0599s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb