FIRST ANTI-AMERICAN SENTIMENT


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Nord-Pas de Calais » Lille
October 15th 2007
Published: October 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So today I came across my first anti-American sentiment in France. Many French people live in the FJT, and even more foreigners from all over than French people. Many of the foreigners have some indication of their nationality on their door, so I made a teeny American and French (well, I am French while I’m here) flag and put them right next to my door handle. They’re only about an inch long, if that. Well, someone ripped the American one off, tore it into teeny pieces, and threw the pieces on the floor outside my door.
Here would be my response to this person were I to catch him/her in the act (I already made a new one and put it back):
Of course, this would be said in damn near perfect French:
That is my door, and what goes on it does not belong to or concern you, not to mention that I have done nothing to you or your door.
The American flag represents the American people. Your action indicates that you are making quite a negative statement against the entire United States of America and, therefore, its people. This is dangerous and wrong for several reasons.
First, the United States is a vast country, filled with millions and millions of very different individuals, with different appearances, heritages, beliefs, and values. Therefore, saying that you hate Americans doesn’t actually mean anything.
Second, do not confuse the American people with the current White House Administration. Disagreeing with the current Administration (even hating George Bush’s actions/policies/values) is completely valid. Many Americans share this view with you. Likewise, you are perfectly entitled to your opinions about American culture. There again, you will find that many Americans agree with you.
Most importantly, though, it strikes me as particularly interesting that you have targeted ME for your anti-American sentiment. I do not represent most of what you claim to hate “chez les Américains.” I voted against George Bush in both elections. I am against the war in Iraq. I disagree with most of the political Right’s values and ideas.
But even if you did not know all that, think about this: I came to France voluntarily, meaning that already I am interested in countries and cultures other than my own. I speak French, I know the culture (as much as I can) and look forward to knowing both the culture and the language more intimately after spending more time here. I am here not for my own pleasure as a tourist or a vacationer, but as an employee of the French government, a teacher of the English language. I LIVE here now. I have a deep appreciation for the French language, culture, and history. I plan to become an interpreter for political figures one day, with the intention of promoting and facilitating communication between countries and a better understanding and appreciation for cultures other than one’s own.
For these reasons, I find it childish, inappropriate, and wrong to make such a sweeping generalization about an entire population, especially in the manner in which you chose to do so. I do not know you, so I do not judge you. If I did know you, I would not assume that everyone in your entire country is exactly like you. You should afford me the same respect.


Advertisement



22nd October 2007

You Go
This is why I love you, you tell the jerk how it is... ;-) miss you!

Tot: 0.193s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0724s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb