Sep 14


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Nord-Pas de Calais » Calais
September 14th 2008
Published: September 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone! I would just like to tell you abut what an amazing weekend I have just had. I went to a Rotary club weekend and met so many people from all over the world! I met people from Brazil, Mexico, South Africa, Canada and so many more... It really was awesome because the language everyone at least knew a little was English, which was so lucky for me! I got so many really neat pins for my Rotary jacket and made so many new friends. I feel like I really can connect with each of them because they all took this huge leap to go to another country for a whole year and they are going through the same process and they really do understand how you are feeling because they feel it as well being an exchange student too. Well the Rotary took us one day to the beach ...
We rode on the back of this wagon along the beach and the sand kept blowing in everyones eyes but other than that it was really fun. We got to the beach and met a fisherman who collects muscles that people eat a lot here. I tried to eat one and it was so weird beause I opened the shell and it moved and I was like ITS ALIVE, well everyone was like duhhh but really it was moving and everything and I did, I ate it! It tasted just like salt water though and was not that bad haha. I then went with this other American girl really far into the sea with our jean pants that soon got soo soaked and freazing! But it was realy fun to go into the waves and everything. We all got seashells and wrote things in the sand. We have so many pictures im just waiting to be emailed a bunch of them! After we walked a ways and we walked to our campsite. The campsite was like in a big cafeteria where we ate dinner and so we were to sleep on the floor... Which by sleep I mean for like 2 hours because a bunch of stayed up until 5 talking I mean its another country with people from other countries that can have endless really cool conversations, who was going to sleep throught that, deff. not me! haha the next day we ate bread with Nutella which is like Peanut Butter but Chocolate and sooo good! I think every exchange student loves nutella, I know I do! So that day we go to this high ropes thing... It was soo scary! But I loved it all. We wore harnesses around our waist and were told how to clip the clips to the rope and swing but of course I get up into the tree and freaked out thinking I forgot how to clip the belt but I remembered and I made it. I had soo much fun and was so glad that I had the chance to do such a crazy thing!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 9; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0408s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb