Arrived at Our Home Away from Home... Chez Liberte


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Midi-Pyrénées
September 11th 2015
Published: September 11th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Hi all,

Well we made it! The flights went well with short layovers in Salt Lake City and Amsterdam. For whatever reason, however, I could not sleep on the planes so was up for 30+ hours before I lay my head on a pillow. We arrived about 1:30 France time in Toulouse and then went to the rental car office to get our "Fifi," our little Fiat. Drove without incident - amazingly - to Cremps, to our digs. Cameron navigated superbly however the roads became smaller and smaller... Something out of Alice In Wonderland. The road was so narrow that little Fifi could barely fit through, often with buildings on either side. Now throw in that these narrow trails for roads are two way! Then add in that they are very windy with a lot of rock on the hill side and huge drop offs on the cliff sides. All this coupled with the fact that Fifi is standard shift. I think the last time I drove standard was when I was teaching Heather to drive. I just had to close my eyes and go for it. So far, we have survived.

Advertisement



11th September 2015

So glad to hear from you!!! I temember traveling with Jim in the countryside outside of London with one lane road but two way traffic!!! They had pull offs. So glad you made it safe and sound.

Tot: 0.158s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0711s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb