Life in South of France


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Midi-Pyrénées
October 28th 2005
Published: October 28th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Petit Petit with NaturellePetit Petit with NaturellePetit Petit with Naturelle

These 2 are a hoot!
I did not realize that I wasnot publishing my blog so a lot will come through at once. some days I am too lazy. sorry. I was soooo glad to hear from Pat, Jullie, Jean, Heather and everyone. About email. Sometimes I can pick it up but I cant reply. So this is my only commuciation. I can always get news on the blog tho. While I miss my friends and family, I am not ready to come home yet. I havent figured out how to use a contraction on this keyboard. ha! We have kind of settled into a routine. It is the best of both worlds. Live in the country and work in the city. When we go home at night it is like nothing I have ever experienced. Right in the middle of the Pyrenees halfway up a mountain are these old farmhouses. Marleen and Ivo have transformed it into a cozy hide-away with modern conveniences. Yet the frame and structure are from a way of life that is hundreds of years ago. The beams in my room (thank you Niels) have 2 little windows that look out over this amazing view of the mountains. I open them for fresh air and it is heaven sent. When we go outside, we are greeted by 2 cats, Camile and Polly and also by a beatiful goat who has several names: Petit Petit, Pringles (he likes chips), Geitemie (goat name), Miekebui (baaa), and also Josephine. She thinks she is a dog and does tricks with the horse. I got some photos. There is a little village at the top of the mountain where we walked this morning. We had an amzing view of Chateau de Foix from 10 km away. We picked some fresh lavender to make sachet. Our hands smelled so good. It has been so warm that I rarely need a jacket, just in morning. Today is cooler, maybe a fire tonight in the den. You know me, when I am so happy, I cry... Well, my heart is so overcome with the goodness of this experience that I tear up several times a day. I love to sit in the den at night and listen to music. I am learning a lot of new artists that are Italian, Belgiun, French and Spanish. Also Terrence Trent D'Arby, Neneh Cherry and also just some good 70s classic USA rock and roll.
And always the chocolate, coffee, croissant, cheesecake (oh my gosh), and wine. Can you believe that I havent gained one pound. What they say about French women is true. They eat all they want in moderation and stay fit. What a life.......


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

ArtArt
Art

Everywhere this art is stuck in the corner at the church. Huge paintings. This is at the church down the street. St Volusian
My roomMy room
My room

Cool Euro bed. I sleep like a kitten.


Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0241s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb