P.S. about the wine........


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Midi-Pyrénées » Toulouse
November 16th 2005
Published: November 16th 2005
Edit Blog Post

ApertifApertifApertif

These are grape leaves filled with rice and olives. Mine is the little glass!!
I looked back on my travel blog. It was fun and easy and captured the basics of my trip. Thanks for all the good feedback. I noticed something, so...
To all my family, friends, students, and fellow Methodists: The culture in France is very different. They have what they refer to as "Table Wine". This is an inexpensive bottle that is opened and should be finished off with that meal. That is because it's not good to recork it. They serve several courses of food with each meal and refill their glass as they go. Sometimes the apertif is served with a sweeter wine than the main course or the cheese.
I learned all of this as I was invited to share a table the French way. Marleen and Ivo are Belgique at heart and don't have wine with every meal. They also knew that I had a low tolerance, so we had a 2 inch rule for me. That was 2 inches in my wine goblet. This is definitely wine country. The vineyards are everywhere. I did enjoy the "fruit of the vine", but not in a manner of partying, but rather as an enhancement for the fine cuisine.
I
Just meJust meJust me

I stay sober cause I don't want to miss anything, right?
will probably get teased some, please know that I would never allow myself to get into a compromising situation.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0191s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb