Nothing Left: Toulouse (95km +39km)


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Midi-Pyrénées » Toulouse
June 27th 2014
Published: March 22nd 2018
Edit Blog Post

What can I say about the final riding day? Again, we were blessed with fine weather and beautiful countryside, once we got out of town. After gathering for the final group shot (I obviously never got the memo about what to wear), we set off in rush hour to try and find our way out of town. After a few abortive attempts we finally emerged and roared over hill and dale, pausing occasionally to let the group coalesce before accepting the inevitable and dropping a couple of slower riders.

The rest of us continued on at a brisk pace, separating on the climbs but regrouping for the flats and generally enjoying the day. After a brief stop in Lisle-sur-Tarn where we waited for the Musee Art du Chocolat to open (sadly, I seemed to be the only one interested in the half-hour tour, which I chose to forego rather than drop out of the group. I did of course buy a bit of chocolate, though), we again hit the road.

At last, amidst big-city traffic and noise, we reached the hotel, and since the van hadn't yet arrived, immediately sought out beer.

While others disassembled and packed their bikes, I set out to do some reconnaissance on the ride to the airport I will be making Sunday at 4AM, Ostensibly a mere 10km journey, I ended up getting quite lost (repeatedly) before finally figuring things out (it didn't help that one necessary sign I needed was in fact hidden behind quite a large tree). Fortunately, I returned in time to join the others for a fine meal on the Place Saint-Georges.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0705s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb