my weekend in montpellier!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Midi-Pyrénées » Millau
October 18th 2010
Published: October 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

This weekend my mum and my sisters (Hannah and Rachel) came to visit.
Got up and walked to the bus station/ train station. A little early I headed to the cafe at the station. Just sat down and comfy with my cafe au lait when I heard this racket, looking outside a huge parade of people followed by a tractor full of rubbish bags, descended on the train station. Shouting and marching they started unloading the tractor and piled up the rubbish bags infront of the train station doors,wtf! Good job I wasnt planning on getting the train!
After the mad french people had left I went to catch my bus. The bus journey didnt seem too long, but maybe that was just because I fell aslepp, quelle surprise! I got off at the bus station and thats when the hunt to find them began.
The picture on the hotel website was of a lot of flags and looked to be outside the corum so I headed that way only to realise the hotel had taken a very misleading picture of the corum to show the surrounding sites, the hotel was nowhere near there!
I ventured down another street were this trampy girl, who looked to be doing the walk of shame, asked me if she could use my phone. Been the nice person I am I did my good deed for the day, although I was worried she was going to steal it, then I thought its only my ghetto phone, not the end of the world! After the skank left I started being followed by the biggest chav of my life so along came the detour, a million miles in the wrong direction, but it lost the chav and I felt safe again.
Back on the place de le comedie I managed to find my mum and sisters, who like I had had no luck finding the hotel. I was glad to see them but at the same time all I could feel was anger towards Montpellier and I remembered why I didnt like it in the first place.
Next stop tourism office... we managed to get a map and directions to the hotel, which was obviously in the complete opposite direction I had been searching! We eventually found the hotel, which was in a very undesirable part of town, located next to a sex shop, yes that kind of area! The hotel was ok very basic but manageable!

After we had unpacked we went for a walk around the city and I showed them how far it was from the bus station to the hostel so they could feel my pain, from when I had to take the hike that day I left montepellier! After a bit of wandering around we decided to get some food. Now what could we get thats going to be there first meal in france, something french? no how about a kebab! It was lovely, but massive so I could finish. It had meat salad AND chips inside a tortilla wrap with mayo, very good!!
That night we just went for a few drinks and came back pretty early.

Saturday 16th October - L'anniversaire de ma mere 😊 Bonne anniversaire maman!
We went for a walk around the town again, and saw the sites, like the arc de triomphe in montpellier and the other monuments. After that everyone was pretty tired so we headed back to the hotel for an afternoon snooze 😊

Trick time - after my snooze mum and I got ready for the evening. I went to go see if hannah and rachel were ready too but when I got to their room there was no answer. I tried the door and it was open... there room was spotless like no body was staying there. How strange, had I got the wrong room? So i looked in the wardrobe there stuff was there, but I couldnt believe they had gone out without locking there room. I ran back down to my room and told my mum, I was about to go to the reception desk, when I rang hannah who was in fits of laughter! They had been setting up the prank for ages, rachel had hidden in the wardrobe behind a dress and hannah was in the bathroom, me the big plonker had not checked there! where was ashton kutchner as I had been punked!!!

That night we just went to a few bars, we found a really cheap bar called the saloon, where we introduced my mum to desperados!! yum yum yum!! after that we went to find some food. In a struggle to find a main course for less that 15 euros we settled with a good old ruby murry! It wasnt the best and there take on pompadoms where somewhat different to anyone elses! But it was ok and we had eaten! After the curry we headed back to the cheap bar. The guy who worked there turned into our mini bouncer and did everything he could to help us and welcome us, including making sure the outside heater was at exactly the right temperature and also making sure the drunk divs didnt get too close to us. After a few more drinks we headed back to the hotel.

Sunday.. we did our usual trick of waking up and gettin breakfast in town. We then went to take the tram to 'Mosson' where apparently there was a flea market. We got off at mosson only to find the most depressing ghetto type town ever! It was horrible there were so many high rised flats and loads of weird men lurking around. Not the best place to get lost. I stopped and asked this old woman where the market was and she pointed us in the right direction. we found a market but it wasnt what my mum had seen. This was a small inside market that smelt worse that leeds market, and my mum say an outdoor market with loads of different stalls. Been unsuccessful on the market front we decided to get the tram back.
On the tram I heard this awful crunchy of crisps, anyone who knows me would know that this annoys the hell out of my. I scanned around to find the culprit at first I thought it was a woman, in her 40's I really wanted to tell her that at the age of 40 she should have learnt the art of eating with her mouth shut! But then I realised Sir crunchalot was a little boy, no matter how cute he was it still didnt stop the fact that he was sooooo annnoooyyinnngg!! It really was so bad i wanted to pull all his teeth out individually and stick them in his eyes!!!!
After the tram journey we went back to the hotel for a little siesta 😊 that night we got ready and went to a few bars. we all decided we wanted chinese so we found one near to the hotel and went there. My lord what and experience that was....
set meal menu, one for 13 euros the other for 19. However we couldnt understand any of it so I asked for the english menu, but that still may as well been in french. They didnt have any normal dishes like sweet and sour or satay dishes, it was so strange. I decided to get the 'chinese soup' it was nice but not fantastic glass noodles in some peppery broth. For main I had chicken with mushrooms, it smelt like wet dog but the noodles were nice. Hannah had fish in some kind of sweet sauce, she said her fish tasted mouldy and was over all disgusting.
For dessert I had something which only could be described as a deepfried donut... absolutley disgusting just really oily and horrible. After paying 60 euros for a disgusting meal we left the chinese!!!
We stopped and had a few more drinks at another bar and then headed back to the hotel.

Monday morning we went for breakfast and I headed to the bus station as my bus was at 11. It was really nice to see my family just ashame montpellier isnt the nicest city in the world and it was so expensive!!

On the bus back there was a 'renesme' type child. It scared the hell out of me, body of a baby but face of a 3 year old with a full set of teeth and ears peirced, I didnt dare fall asleep incase she ate me....
It was nice to get back to millau home sweet home 😊 which was a good sign as I truly felt like this was my home and it felt good to be back.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0529s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb