Marseille


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Languedoc-Roussillon » Montpellier
February 19th 2006
Published: February 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday I spent the day in the city of Marseille with my friend Amy, and it was a lot of fun. It's located about an hour and a half from Montpellier by train and is right on the Mediterranean. The ticket was about 24 euros for both ways because we have a pass that gives discounts to people between the ages of 12 and 25, which makes traveling much better. The train ride was fun and it stopped at Avignon, Aix-en-Provence, and Nimes before arriving in Marseille.

It was very beautiful and the weather was quite nice but very windy. We walked down from the train station to the Vieux Port I believe it is called and walked around the different streets. We took a boat ride that usually goes to the Chateau d'If, but today it was closed, and to another island and then back to the port. It was about an hour boat ride to go out and come back. Although, I can now say that I saw the chateau from the movie "The Count of Monte Cristo," so that's pretty exciting. lol

We walked around town and tried to find some museums since we had a city pass that gave us free entry into just about anything. The city pass was 18 euros for the day and gave you free entrance to most things or at least a discount and it also gave you a ticket to use the Metro for the whole day, so it was a good deal in my opinion. We did end up going to the Roman Dock museum but it wasnt very big. We also walked around in the mall for a little and did some shopping although I didn't buy anything.

Overall it was a great day and I really liked Marseille.

Voila, ciao!

kristen

Advertisement



19th February 2006

day in Marseille
sounds like a great day; wish I had been there, too! When I went to France in college, my friend Debi lived in Marseille with her host family. She loved it! You're averaging 1 city per weekend-keep up the good work!
19th February 2006

Erin and Sherry will be so happy! They love that movie. :D Oh, if possible you should add Nicole to your travel blog list (nskins16@aol.com). She's anxious to hear from you! I miss you, and am glad you're enjoying yourself! :D
20th February 2006

fun
Ah, Kristen, I thought for sure your mom was going to comment on the shopping, because I know she loves it so much. I love hearing of you travels so much and I told 2 of my students about it, since they are taking French, and their enthusiasm vacillates quite a bit. I've decided to share these with them and then research the sites you've visited so they can actually see and get a "feel" for your experiences. I'm hoping to inspire them a little more. Thanks for the material and opportunity to do so. Take care and keep on having fun.

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0568s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb