France Part Deux


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France
August 4th 2014
Published: August 15th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Day 35: TRAVEL/Paris. Today was...brutal. It started last night. I slept on a train from Porto to San Sebastian. I had three girls in my cabin who were really nice. But it was just hard to fall asleep. I woke up with 30 minutes left in the ride. No problem. I got to San Sebastian and decided to go to France. So I bought a ticket for the border. Ok. Now I know what country I'm sleeping in tonight. I got a coffee and breakfast in San Sebastian. Short train ride to the border. At the border I learned that going to Bordeaux was free with my pass. So I got another coffee at a cafe with wifi. Except I was no longer on the peninsula, so there were no hostels in Bordeaux. Or Toulouse. Or anywhere else I looked. Except Paris! I didn't want to go somewhere I had already been, but it was a place to sleep, so I did it. I walked into the train station, booked a ticket to Paris, and got on the train. Most last-minute thing I've done. I got to Paris around 9:30. I met an American girl in my hostel and we talked about Harry Potter. Then I told her that it was on my bucket list to dance under the Eiffel tower and asked if she wanted to come with me (yes, cliche. Whatever.) When she agreed I went to my room to get my bag, met an American guy named Nic, and asked if he wanted to come with us. We ended up having a fabulous night under the Eiffel tower. We danced, we sat, we talked, we met some French people and hung out with them. At one point a guitar appeared and Nic happens to sing and play, so we had a sing-along with the French people. What a night.

Day 36: Paris. I did laundry today because Paris is expensive! I also went to a park for a really long time. And ate sushi. Then I got on a train and went to Geneve, Switzerland! Country...25? 25! My hostel was the only hostel available. It advertised itself as a youth hostel. I walked into a room of about 40 people at 11 o'clock who were sitting on their phones. Then I got assigned to the wrong bed. When I went to the kitchen to cook pasta, there was no stove. I met a girl in the anti-social room who taught me how to cook pasta in a microwave. Even though the kitchen was technically closed, I hadn't eaten in forever, so we ate pasta until we got kicked out. Then we went to the river and had some wine and talked about puns. Despite the lack of hostel atmosphere, it turned into a good night.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.047s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb