Switzerland


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Geneva
August 6th 2014
Published: August 26th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Day 36: I came to Switzerland to hike and not spend a lot of money. It is incredibly difficult to find hiking trails online. Why is that? Someone make a website. Go. I looked on my TripAdvisor app (shameless advertising) for basically the first time ever for activities and found a bike rental place. FOR FREE. So naturally I went to rent a bike. I put down 20...currencies (francs! franks?) and rented the bike for 4 hours. I biked along the south side of Lake Geneva until I decided to stop for a snack. I found a little park next to a beach with a stand. I was so confused when the currency was Euros. Turns out I was in France. No border signs. Nothing. Oops. Also it turns out Geneva was 22 km away. So I biked back and made it back within the 4-hour time slot. Then I went back to the hostel and met a girl named Phoenix in the anti-social area by going up to her and asking if she likes fondue. Food brings people together. We walked around forever trying to find a palace that was closed, and I found a soul sister in this girl. Can't wait to see her in New Zealand! Then we got insanely expensive cheese fondue and ate ourselves into comas. The hostel was more social when we got back so we made friends until we got shushed and went to bed.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.168s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 17; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0804s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb