Confession: I have eaten 3 crepes in a 24 hour period. And two of them were filled with chocolate.


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France
May 19th 2011
Published: May 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Since I've been in Paris my diet has consisted of primarily two things: bread and chocolate. And coffee. And wine. Okay, so four things. As someone who normally does not eat many sweets or white bread, I'm afraid I'm on the verge of a sugar coma, and posibbly not fitting into my jeans. Thank goodness for all the walking.

But it's all good, I really love bread. I know it is not the most nutritious choice, but it is often the cheapest, and therefore justifiable. My hostel has a free breakfast of baguettes and jam every morning, making that the easiest meal choice of the day. For lunch, I've mostly been going to "fast food" stands. In Toronto this would mean a hot dog vendor or Subway, but here, the fast food is crepes and paninis. I love it.

Yesterday I hit an important milestone - my first macaron. I can't believe I have lived my life without eating these. They are amazing. I've been hearing about them for a while from my friend Alicia, and they do indeed live up to the hype. A common misperception is that macarons are chocolate and coconut (I think that is actually spelled macaroon), anyway, macarons are different - they are tiny little pastel cookies filed with creme in unique flavours such as "rose petal". I'll attach a picture later if I have the time and figure out how to do that.

In non-food related adventures, the past few days have been very museum filled. I visited the musee d'Orsay on Wednesday for several hours. For the first time, I purchased one of the audio guides (5 euros) and it added a lot to my museum going experience. Thursday I visited the l'Orangerie and the Petite Palace which had a free fine art galarie. The l'Orangerie was really interesting, the first floor was devoted to giant paintings of Monet's water lilies. The design was specified by Monet - it was in two large, white, oval rooms, with the canvasses covering nearly the entirity of the walls. Again, I'll try adding pictures later.

In my hostel I met another Canadian traveller and we met up Wednesday and Thursday nights for dinner. I do love the freedom from travelling alone, but it can get lonely, and it was certainly nice to have a dinner companion. Wednesday night we ate crepes (naturally) in the Latin Quarter, and Thursday night we had a picnic in front of the eiffel tower. The picnic is definitely one of the highlights of my trip so far. We went to a grocery store on our way there and purchased a bottle of wine, a large baguette, some veggies, red pepper spread and about a week's worth of cheese. Our dinner cost about 10 euros each, a bargain, considering the view we had.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



23rd May 2011

i want to go there.
i pretty much want macarons every day of my life. you're so lucky that when you get back to toronto you can continue your love affair. i either have to learn how to make them or continue ordering the occasional box online. you don't even want to know what the shipping costs. also, baguettes PLEASE. and crepes! i had a nutella crepe in paris and it was warm and soft and delicious! i wish i could be there NOW. i love the orangerie. my favourite next to the rodin museum. <3 i'm hungry!

Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0256s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb